Cake and an Update

Wanted to let you know that my facebook/gossip/crap tv fast went beautifully. I did not cheat even a little bit and have been really much less dependent on them still and haven’t even put the facebook app back on my phone (big step, dude). Now, onto the important stuff- cake.

Most of you who know me know that I LOVE me some traditions. I am a little bit crazy about them and enforce strict adherence, though I think I am getting more relaxed with age. One that I really miss is baking birthday cakes for people. My job in the family was always to make birthday cakes. It started when I was little and Nana and I would make cakes from a mix and then dye the icing a really funky color and has slowly evolved and was a great outlet to try to experiment with wild and crazy desserts through the years. I really miss getting to make those cakes all the time. I ran across this cake on an adorable blog called Sweetapolita and can not stop looking at the pictures and wishing that someone would just have a freaking birthday already (when I am in the country). Behold I give you

6-Layer Rich Chocolate Malted & Toasted-Marshmallow Cake

I don’t want to be dramatic about it but doesn’t that just look like happiness on a plate? Yum.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cake and an Update

  1. Carolyn Scott says:

    My birthday will be any time you are in the country if you’ll make that dessert for the occasion! YUM!!!

  2. Dad says:

    Does it come with its own bottle of insulin???

  3. Cindy says:

    I believe I have a birthday coming up and would love for you to come home and bake this very cake for me.

    Also remember the time Nana put the covered cake dish back into the cabinet thinking that we had washed it? Now that was a funky colored cake when we found it!

    Without you here we resort to (GASP!) cheesecakes and pies! We miss you!!

    • fishandchipsandsalsa says:

      Of course I remember. Nana and I ate it when we found it (maybe not but I think we at least tried it). it was purple and has those sugar letters on it and some of those umbrellas that you stick in fruity drinks. ie it was a masterpiece.

  4. Betty Bowden says:

    Those were fun times. I really don’t think we ate the cake after it had been stored in the cabinet for so long, but it was good for a big laugh. I miss those times with you. Now lets see, I think you are supposed to come home around August and my birthday is in September so we can have an early birthday cake for my birthday.:)

  5. Cathy Knauber says:

    My bday is April 26th…shortly after I leave you…feel free to bake me a cake before you leave and put it in the fridge! ;0)
    There is a care package coming for you guys from us as a thank you.

Leave a Reply

