Oscar Wrap Up: Best and Worst

I am in a right foul mood today as I spent my lunch hour at the Dr getting shots. I hate shots. Worse, I am having to get shots for our upcoming trip to India. BTW: we are going to India. I do not think that vaccines and vacation should exist in the same sentence because it seems to violate the entire point of vacation. Whatever. Mike and I are going to have a long talk when drag my achy arms (plural!) home tonight about how our next trip will have an ocean, pool, cocktails on demand and a total lack of both old churches and museums or SO HELP ME GOD I AM GOING WITHOUT HIM.

My favorites from last night for varying reasons.

Overall: Mila Kunis. I think this look was flawless. She looked interesting without being crazy.

Best High Fashion: Everyone seems to be in such a rut these days and I considered this Oscar carpet to be fairly boring. Anybody can rock a strapless shiny dress with a pretty necklace and an updo- ANYONE.  This dress is definitely not for everyone but Cate Blanchett pulls it off. It is so weird but she looks so beautiful and if I thought that there was any way that I could get my hair to look like that I would cut it off tomorrow. She is a tall classy lady who is a phenomenal talent and I think she looks amazing.

Best Hair and Best Smile: Reece forever! Can’t wait to see the look she chooses for her upcoming nuptials but I love this one.

Best Age Appropriate Adorableness: I was very meh about this at first because I thought she had more potential but the more I see it the more I like it. I think it is probably very hard to stay age appropriate in Hollywood and she looks every bit like the fresh-faced 15-year-old she is rather than trying to look 23 (ahem, Miley).

Worst: Her dress was a wreck and her hair needed brushing and her speech showed a distinct lack of class. Sorry Melissa Leo.

That’s what I thought. Who did you love and who did you hate?

*Yes, the live-blogging of the show (which started after midnight) counted as my blog for the day yesterday, while the redcarpet live blog counted as Sunday’s.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Oscar Wrap Up: Best and Worst

  1. Cathy Knauber says:

    Reese rocked it, except the “Legally Blonde” hair. Not so much a fan of Cate or Sandra’s dress choices.
    Sorry about the shots….maybe when you hit the pool, ocean, and cocktails on demand I can puppy-sit again! lol

  2. Betty Bowden says:

    I agree with you about Melissa Leo. I thought she took too long to say nothing and then she came out with the f bomb. Very unladylike. Reese was cute as always. I can’t believe I watched the whole thing but my shows were preempted. I was wondering if you got all dressed up for the occasion.

  3. Dad says:

    Sorry, but I think Cate Blanchett looks like she has a serving platter stuck to her chest!

  4. Jiji says:

    I’m so excited for you and your upcoming trip to India, but I’m thinking anyplace that you have to get a boatload of shots to visit isn’t the best vacation. But then again, what do I know. The closet I’ll ever get to India is Hot Stuff! What a great adventure you will have though.

    I’m gonna have to disagree with you about Melissa’s dress. I loved it!

    Since it was Michael’s idea to visit India, tell him he’s gonna have to do something really special for you because of the shots & sore arms. He will come up with something, if I know him like I think I do.

  5. Cindy says:

    Nana said f bomb!

  6. I fully support your ocean/pool/cocktails vacay…in fact, I think it needs to be a girls’ trip………anyone else?

Leave a Reply

