Update and Chicken

The worst time to give up celebrity gossip is the week before the Oscars! What was I thinking!?!?! Also, I have never realized how much I am dependent on facebook. I just go to it to pass time. I had to delete the app off my phone for the week.

I am having an Oscar party and I am so excited! I have wanted to have one forever and I will post about it as I get ready! Also, be sure to head over here on Sunday night as I will be live-blogging it as usual.

One of my new tricks to keep us eating cheaply and healthfully is to buy a whole raw chicken over the weekend and throw it in the crockpot on Monday morning. We usually have the dark meat straight off the chicken with veggies that night and then I chop up the breast meat and put it in a pasta dish or soup or even make some chicken salad.

There are lots of ways to make chicken in the crockpot but the easiest and tastiest way I have found it just to slice up and onion and throw it in the bottom and then peel (but don’t chop) an entire head’s worth of garlic- it sounds like too much but it isn’t. Throw some butter under the skin and leave on low until done. I don’t know how long it takes really I just take it out when I get home from work.

If I was a really good person, I would throw all the leftover bones and stuff back in the crock pot with water and some celery, carrot, onion and herbs and have a pot full of stock when I got home the next day from work. I am not a really good person. I also do not have the freezer space for such endeavors.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Update and Chicken

  1. Cindy says:

    Sounds yummy, but I thought you might blog about George Washington since today was his real birthday!

  2. Jiji says:

    Looking forward to the Oscar blogs & I love me some crockpot chicken!

  3. Betty Bowden says:

    I am going to try some of your crock pot chicken. Sounds good. I usually just cook parts but I will try a whole chicken. ( Hmmm, I wonder if I should throw in just a little bit of powdered sugar.:)

  4. Carole says:

    BETTY BOWDEN! You are a legend. I read your comment and laughed (quietly – I am at work) until I cried.

  5. CRAZY excited for said oscar party! And I expect some chicken.

  6. Cathy Knauber says:

    You have a crockpot? Can I use it?

    • fishandchipsandsalsa says:

      You may use it as well as anyting else in our teeny kitchen! We have just about anything you could need but I will warn you that the crock pot runs a bit hotter (even on low) that then ones back home.

Leave a Reply

