Here Goes Nothing

Mike and I were listening to an old Matt Chandler sermon today and he was talking about the pursuit of righteousness. He dismissed the notion of simply not having enough time because people always make time for the things that matter to them and he said something that really stuck with me- you have as much time as everyone else has. I have lots of things that I want to do that I do not think that I have enough time to work on but I find that I have time to do lots of things that don’t matter at all. So I have made a list of some big time wasters that I have and I am going to give them up totally for one week and see what I can get done. (My daily blogging will not suffer- promise!)

1. Facebook. I love facebook, but lately I find that I am very well-informed of lots of people’s lives that I barely remember actually knowing in person. I spend too much time on it that is completely wasted.

2. Celebrity Gossip. I spend FAR too much time on these websites and they have no bearing on my actual life. But if Brad and Jen get back together, someone please call me.

3. Idle TV. I have a few shows that I really like to watch and make those a priority to sit down and enjoy. But I don’t like that my first reaction when I get home from work is to turn the tv on for no reason. So I am going to stick to my shows but try not to make Two and a Half Men reruns the soundtrack of our home. (Seriously that show is terrible but it is on here All. The. Time.)

That’s it. Just three things that sap my hours and my energy and my brain space. Maybe one day I will find a better balance but I think a week-long fast is just what the Dr ordered.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Here Goes Nothing

  1. Betty Bowden says:

    You are becoming such a grown up. I don’t know if I like that or not. I still want you to be my little angel. (Just so you know, you always will be)

  2. jiji says:

    Oh, by the way, the Uverse box went on the fritz last Sunday, IN THE MIDDLE OF A GREAT MOVIE that it deleted while I was watching! It deleted movies and series of weekly shows scheduled to record. U might want to get your lovey to take a look at Uverse & reschedule some of your fav weekly shows.

  3. Word. I needed to read that.

Leave a Reply

