Pain Free Greens

Have you ever had a healthy eating/ diet person tell you that when you crave chips you should eat baby carrots? Doesn’t it make you want to punch them in the face? Me too. Enter: Kale Chips.

I saw these on Smitten Kitchen the other day and finally made some. Mind blown. Life changed. All you do is toss strips of kale in a teensy bit of olive oil, sprinkle with your salt of choice (kosher) and bake at 300• for 20ish minutes or until crisp. I promise you that the salty crunch is a much better chip substitute then &@?$% baby carrots.

I just made some to go with dinner and ate the whole pan. Oops.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pain Free Greens

  1. Cindy says:

    I tried that once and it was terrible. Of course I didn’t know about the olive oil. Maybe that will help. I think I also overcooked mine. I’ll try again!

  2. Carolyn says:

    GET OUT!!!!! Seriously? Ok, I’m taking you at your word and going to the store to buy (for the first time) kale and baking some tonight! I’m hoping against hope that they are a suitable substitute for chips because I love (and miss) chips so much! Thanks for sharing your finds!

  3. Carole says:

    Bought kale at the store today….it was the last bunch. Once post from you and the kale growers rejoice! : )

  4. jiji says:

    Across the pond here we Weight Watchers have a new chip called Popchips. Interesting but it can never replace Doritos! Can’t wait to try kale chips! XO

  5. jiji says:

    p.s. BTW-Salt & Vinegar Popchips are my fav flavor. Kinda like Pringles….only puffy like Puffed Cheetos.

Leave a Reply

