From the Corner. Again.

Remember last time I blogged from the corner? I did it again. I bought more dishes. I think that I have a problem. Have you ever seen that tacky t-shirt that says, “I’m a Drunk, Alcoholics go to Meetings” that is how I feel about my dish (and glassware) buying problem. I acknowledge that there is a problem but I have no intention of trying to get better. I went back to Stoke on Trent the other day with the fabulous ladies of the America Women’s Club. I went with the intention to stock up on more of the Woodland Spode dishes that I bought last time. Last time I bought 8 dinner plates. I bought two more dinner plates and 10 dessert/salad plates and two more serving pieces to go with it. I don’t think that these dishes are very me but I love them so much. They look like home and like family and like memories and Mike loves them and tells me how excited he is to have years of holiday meals with our family on them. How can a girl resist that? Answer? She can’t.

That is a great big lipped serving platter.

The big rectangular platter.

A couple of my favorite dessert/salad plates:

I bought all this at our first stop of the day. So then I had the rest of the day and several other stores to check out and ended up being really really bad. But got some great stuff really really cheap.

At Burleigh I found these Christmas plates for £0.50 each. I bought 8!

I found these plates to use for regular dinners at home and they made me think of Honey. They were £1 each. I bought 4.

At the Waterford/Wedgwood store I found these Marc Jacobs for Wedgwood plates on sale for £2 and I decided that for £8 I needed a set of 4. This is just a pic of the rim and the pictures do not do these justice (it looks dark red in the pic but it is a royal purple color.) They are beautiful fine bone china and the colors look amazing!

Then I stumbled on these beautiful Waterford lowball glasses for £4. They are really heavy crystal and they have become our favorite juice glasses. If you haven’t guessed, I am not very precious with my dishes. Why have them if you don’t use them!?

Then we went to a store that doesn’t do dishes per se but all white/cream-colored pottery and I love it. (I got the fish candlesticks that are on each side of our table there last year) I went through their sale stuff and brought home two cute little trays for about £6 total!


It was a wonderful day! The bus ride was great and it was so much fun to spend time with the group that made my first year in London so great! I have missed them since I started working and it was good to go back. I can at least guarantee that you will have plenty of variety to eat on when you come to visit next. And I will be happy to go back with anyone who wants to. But if you leave with a mild British pottery addiction, don’t say I didn’t warn you.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to From the Corner. Again.

  1. Cindy says:

    Won’t it be fun when you get back to the country of large kitchens!? They are beautiful. All of them. The Burleigh plates look a bit like my Christmas dishes. Can’t wait for those Thanksgiving dinners on the Spode dishes. I promise to not bring paper plates!

  2. Betty Bowden says:

    How in the world did you get home with all of those beautiful dishes. It must have been quite a load. They are all very pretty.

  3. Jiji says:

    You are truly after my heart today. Hope you had a cart, backpack, or something other than your arms to carry your bounty home in. All are Beautiful, absolutely beautiful.

  4. Fabulous! I’m glad you put photos up…I had forgotten all the goodies that you came away with! Lets go back soon! xxx

Leave a Reply

