Resolved: An Update

I thought I would start February with an update, or a report card of sorts and a realization that I have come to this month.

We have been doing really well in eating at home more and saying no to takeout. Mike suggested one of my favorites the other day because we were really tired and it didn’t even sound good. We are exercising together- not the 6 days a week that we are supposed to be doing it, but 3-4 times a week and that is progress!

We set a budget. A real one with goals and plans and everything. This is our first month on the cash system for all of our purchases so…. we’ll see how it goes.

I am doing well with my reading goals! I am consciously trying to put down the computer and pick up a book and read on the bus etc etc. I love reading, and prioritizing it again has been like rekindling an old friendship. Am accepting suggestions for the other 17 books for this year (full disclosure: I will most likely not read what you suggest and I don’t read anything that Oprah recommends.)

Writing: I have done some writing for work but I am still working on how to fit this in to my life and in what capacity.

Cleaning: Did great at first but are now in a bit of a stall while we are waiting for shipping companies to come back to us. We need to start boxing up to ship back to the states. (If you don’t know- we are trying to ship a bunch of stuff back. We are not moving but have realized that if we are going to stay in this tiny flat then we need more space. One day I hope to have a house with kitchen cabinets and closets but that is not what we have today. Oh yeah, I dream big.)

My stunning realization: I can’t do everything! This month has been good and the changes we have been working on are good and I hope they can be around for the long haul. But it is hard stinking work. All the food that we have been eating at home has to be shopped for and cooked. All the working out takes time and makes more laundry. Reading takes time. Etc etc etc. I can not change everything and will be heading straight into burnout of I try to hold myself to perfection. So there are things that I am letting go of- for the greater good. Example? My bedroom will never be clean. I will clean it for company or every once in a while for the heck of it but I am just not one of those people who must compulsively fold everything and or put each hair product right back in its place. I will constantly have piles of clothes on the floor and my vanity will be covered in makeup, brushes and perfume. I am ok with that. I am willingly letting some little things slide so that I can focus on the important stuff.

So in February I am going to concentrate on staying on course with healthy food and exercising, reading and trying to get a shipment of crap out of my house. I have to go to bed now and there are lots of piles of clothes to climb over before I can get in bed!

How are your resolutions?

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Resolved: An Update

  1. Cindy says:

    Sounds like you have gotten off to a great start in 2011! I am proud of the progress you have made. You have completed 15% of your reading goal in the first month! You have cleaned out a lot and made a good decision about what to do with other stuff. You and Mike are eating better and exercising and making better financial decisions. I would be safe in saying that you are farther along in your resolutions than about 95% of the general population – your mother included. I think that if you had a chart of gold stickers then January would certainly rate a big one! Love you!

  2. Cindy says:

    I forgot to mention that I want credit for not making snide remarks about your bedroom never being clean! =)

  3. lollie says:

    You have become wise beyond your years. I am just now learning that I can’t do everything and the word “NO” exists for a reason. One of my favorite quotes is “A clean house is the sign of a boring woman”, well maybe it was my mantra. You are so right about cooking, it sounds good this cooking at home; to bad someone who is tired and exhausted has to do it; then clean up. I always had miles to go before I sleep.. ballgames to attend, places to go, meetings to attend. I wish I had gotten more into the cooking thing, I think some of that had to do with Billy working shift work.
    I am so impressed with you lightening your load of stuff. Before you ship crap home, ask yourself, “would this be a nice memory if I came across it ten years from now in a garage sale?” then let it go. Or better yet, would this even bring .50 at a garage sale. I am trying to purge my stuff, one box at a time. It seems to be breeding in the boxes.
    Note to Andrea: do not ever let resolutions make you feel guilty for breaking them. Perfection is not attainable. You and Mike are living a dream and I get to come along, I love it.

    • fishandchipsandsalsa says:

      Thanks for the encouragement! You are right- I think we are all happier when we just do what we can and then take a chill pill about the rest!!

  4. Jiji says:

    I always knew that we had a lot more in common than most mil/dil’s. But our bedroom mess & who cares about it mentality is one of the best! You totally get that it is sometimes difficult to produce bobby pins, etc. and I don’t have to feel guilty about it!! Love and miss you sweetie. FYI-Water for Elephants!!! Can’t put it down!!! Maybe it’s because one of Poppy’s aunts worked for a carnival & the Great State Fair of Texas. She had some stories to tell!!!! What a life!!!

    • fishandchipsandsalsa says:

      Agreed. Mike teases me about the opposite problem- he says there are 5,000 bobby pins on every surface of the house and that he finds them in the weirdest places- but I never have one where I need it!

      I have heard good things about Water for Elephants. May have to get it for the Kindle 🙂

  5. Dad says:

    Sorry I look at things differently, but who exactly is going to be lucky recipient of your crap???? Just wondering!

  6. Carolyn Scott says:

    Oh my goodness! Y’all are stinkin’ amazing! Keep up the good work and remember words of wisdom from What About Bob . . . baby steps! 🙂

  7. Nana says:

    I am proud of you and Mike. You are really sticking to your guns and that is good. I am reading more but not nearly as much as you. I am about half way through George’s book. If I did not get so sleepy when reading it would be nice. I am setting here looking out the windows in Honey’s den and it is pure white. Beautiful snow fall. Good times to stay inside.
    I always knew you were one SPECIAL little girl and you married one SPECIAL little guy. Good luck on the rest of the year for your resolutions.

  8. fishandchipsandsalsa says:

    I think you will like George’s book. The middle gets a little slower but the end is good! Am really glad that I read it. I wish it was snowing here so that I had a reason to stay inside and stay in my pjs for a day!

Leave a Reply

