Betrayal

One of the things that has been changing around the FCS house is our health habits. Some small changes like more water and less Diet Dr Pepper and some bigger changes like eating more meals at home and eating less processed food. Luckily, these changes dovetail nicely with our new budget and as I am much more motivated by money than by caloric content we may have a shot.

We are really doing well and making some good choices that are hard and frankly, they suck. I could give you some crap about how much better I feel (I do) how much money we are saving by eating at home and taking out lunches (we are) and how much nicer my pants look now (they do) but instead I will also say that sometimes you just need a burger.

Every once in a while there is a small group that likes to get away from the Parliamentary Estate for lunch and grab some Mickey D’s. I went yesterday and had a quarter pounder with cheese, fries and a Diet Coke (with a coupon! paid with cash!) and it was so stinking good. Like soul healing good. For the record, I have never been one of those people who snubbed their noses at the occasional fast food value meal. On the other had I am also not one who is suprised to find out that Taco Bell beef isn’t really beef- what kind of beef do you think they can afford to buy to put in tacos that they sell for $.69???

Stupid quarter pounder and fries made me sick.

Not violently ill. Just sick. And I felt really crap all day. I feel betrayed. So I have done what any other person would do- look at cupcake recipes on the internet.

PS. I am not going to make them but looking at them makes me feel better.
About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Betrayal

  1. Dad says:

    One quick little question, exactly what is the definition of “every once in a while”, hmmmmmmmmm? Just wondering.

Leave a Reply

