Thankful for Thanksgiving

We have now hosted our very first Thanksgiving dinner! It was wonderfully fun and exciting and it was amazing to get to spend Thanksgiving with family even though we live so far away. We kept the menu pretty simple compared to the Thanksgivings of my childhood in which everyone brought several dishes and then we feasted on leftover for days. But we were planning on heading to Germany within 12 hours of dinner so leaving tons and tons of food and a dirty kitchen were not an option.

I love technology. I took a picture of my dressing with my phone and emailed it to Nana to make sure that it was done and looked good. She gave her thumbs up and she was right- it was delicious. I am relatively new to eating dressing on the day- dressing on Thanksgiving = good, cold dressing on the day after Thanksgiving = heaven.

Got the table set with my woodland creatures pattern and it cemented my love for them! That pattern is definitely on my list of things to keep collecting.

The dessert/drinks table. I kept it simple and only made pumpkin and pecan pie this year.  Also instead of whipped cream I made the Pioneer Woman’s whiskey maple cream sauce- it was divine. There was also come carrot cake leftover from a belated birthday celebration for Jeanne!

A completed plate:

And we also got to celebrate little Sophia’s first Thanksgiving!!

I was a wonderful day and a great way to spend a holiday and now I am definitely in Christmas mode! 19 days until we are home!!

 

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thankful for Thanksgiving

  1. Jiji says:

    Thanksgiving was AWESOME! Weighed in @ Weight Watcher’s meeting today thinking that I would have gained. Great surprise though, I lost! Guess it was all that walking around Germany the following day. I’ll have to remember that trick for Christmas and plan to walk all day the Dec. 26th! 🙂

  2. Cindy says:

    Everything looks wonderful. Sophia is adorable! Can’t wait til the 20th!

  3. Nana says:

    I am so glad you had a wonderful Thanksgiving. Ours was a little slim(count wise) but it was a wonderful day and I am thankful for my many many blessings. GOD IS GOOD. Your table was beautiful and the food looked scrumptious. I am looking so forward to having you and Mike home on Christmas. Your village is up but it is not quite as pretty as when you decorate it. I finally got my tree decorated wishing all the time you were here to make it look gorgeous. You are so special to me.

  4. Dad says:

    You just come on home and fix it again. I’ll sure eat it!!!!

Leave a Reply

