Andrea Original

Sometimes I do stupid things. Good things but stupid things. Our bedroom walls are pretty blank. The ceilings are really low and the walls are a pain because they are plaster but I decided that is no excuse for living with blank walls for that long. I also fancy myself a bit artistic. I am not artistic but I like to think that I am. So I thought I could make some art for our bedroom for a fraction of the cost that I could buy anything. On Tuesday I walked to an art supply store not far from work and then wrestled two canvases and a bag of paint supplies on the tube ride home. I decided it would look much more like real art if I used real oil paints.

I set up by covering my table with wax paper:

I made an artists palette by putting a ziploc baggie on my pink cutting board.

And I go to painting my abstract paintings. I had a great time doing it but by the end I looked like a Smurf and Kricket had a blue foot. The finished results:

In an effort to produce different textures (but having no knowledge of ways to do that) some of this paint was applied with a kitchen knife and some of it with the edge of a Chinese take out menu that was shoved through our mail slot. The creative juices were really flowing.


I propped them up in the spare room to dry and checked on them when I got home from work the next day and they were still wet. Completely and totally wet. It made me do some handy googling and I found out that it can take WEEKS for oil paints to dry. Which would be fine if I had a studio or a garage. Instead I have company coming to stay on Sunday and giant wet paintings on the floor. Excellent. So I decided to do what any reasonable person would do and hang them anyway. I haven’t hung them in their permanent place because wanted to make sure they were up and away so that no one accidentally touched them. They look a little funny right now being up so high but at least they can hang and dry.

Maybe I could tell people that I am an awesome artist and all kinds of random crap about what the blobbies of color mean to me and the emotions they convey and then charge thousands of dollars/pounds/euros/yen for them to own an Andrea original. Ehhh I think I will stick to my day job.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Andrea Original

  1. Dad says:

    I am just curious about one thing, what are you going to title your pieces of mastery?

  2. Cindy Williams says:

    Let me know when the price for your art peaks – I have a vast store of your early works in my attic and spread throughout my house! Not that I could part with one.

  3. Carole says:

    Maybe it is the resolution on my monitor but do your blue tights in the masthead match the paintings? GO ANDREA for being creative (& brave) enough to paint with kitchen knives and take out menus! Good to “talk” to you today…. : )

  4. Cindy Williams says:

    My computer shows the tights to be purple!

  5. Dad says:

    I actually see an Indian Chief in your first picture. Just hang it landscape instead of portrait and you have it.

  6. Jiji says:

    Dad sees an Indian Chief. In person it looks more like a bluejay’s head. And, I wondered what those empty nails were for in your bedroom. Your art work with kitchen knife & takey outy menu is Mahvelous! Much better than the German art work at our hotel.

    Missing u & Mike today. Thanks for a wonderful visit and thanks to God for all the wonderful snow and a safe trip home. Only an hr late on arrival to DFW! I’m really “in” the Christmas spirit. Guess that means Christmas music & decorating this week!

Leave a Reply

