Guilty Pleasure

I have discovered that I love something that I swore I would never like: The West Wing. I have had so many people tell me how much they love it and how much they thought I would love it. Most of the people who have been telling me lately have been British and they swear by the show- and more than one has admitted that the show is the only way that they know about American government. We put season 1 on our Love Film (Netflix for the UK) and the other day when Mike was gone I decided to start it. I have been watching an episode or two every chance I could and when season 1 ended in such a cliffhanger I went out and came back the proud owner of this:

Mike has no interest in watching it with me which is wonderful.Why? Because this is how new tv show discoveries work in our house:

A: Want to watch Random New Show?

M: No, I hate that show

A: Just one episode? I think you’ll like it

M: Fine, ok

We watch show and Mike will begrudgingly admit that it was ok.

Several Days later

M: What did you do today/this evening?

A: Watched Random New Show

M: WITHOUT ME!?!?!

A: You hate that show

M: I don’t any more, wait for me to watch it with you.

I adore hanging out with Mike and watching our shows, but I have lost so many shows that I like to watch when Mike is working late or I am working on a project that I am happy not to have to share this one!

I think that I should also add that like so many movies about politics you can totally hate the politics and LOVE the show. It a totally character driven drama that makes you root for them no matter what asinine laws they are trying to pass! I promise that I am still a firm believer in Conservative politics and straight ticket voter- fear not I haven’t gone soft!

I know I am late to the party but I think you should join me. If you are bored one day pick up season one and give it a shot- you won’t regret it!

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Guilty Pleasure

  1. Jiji says:

    I can see him now because I’ve heard the lament before, “What?! You watched it without me!” It’s good to know that someone else in the family believes you just gotta enjoy guilty pleasures alone. Luv u

  2. Dad says:

    The West Wing???? Remember what those liberals are good at: Incrementalism! They are sucking you in girl!

  3. Cindy Williams says:

    You guys have such interesting conversations at your house – real and imagined!

Leave a Reply

