Have Hippo, Will Blog.

I had a problem. I wanted to blog more write more and be more organized but it wasn’t happening. I would leave work every day with ideas and a plan for what I was absolutely going to write and blog about when I got home. Then all of a sudden it would be midnight and I was snuggled up in my pink chair with the puppies watching tv with Mike. I just couldn’t wrap my brain around doing real thinking and writing in my chair.

It should also be noted that Mike and I are kicking ass and taking names in the getting rid of stuff we don’t need/want/use department and have been working on moving junk out of our spare room. I decided that I needed an office. But I didn’t have much room and didn’t want to spend much money. Where does that leave a girl? At IKEA on a Friday night! Saturday I cleaned out even more stuff and set up my twee little office (that has cost less that 100 pounds total!)

Here is the not-finished-but-in-progress result!

It has everything I need: place for computer? Check! Comfy but not overly comfy chair? Check! Kill-resistant plant? Check! Picture of a 5-year-old Mike in a speedo at the beach? Check! Gold hippo? Check!

What’s that? You are confused about the hippo? Let me tell you his story. We were at the sketchy market one day when in search of wonderful treasures I was digging through piles of junk when I stumbled upon this beauty:

A hippo head meant to float in a pond and to (presumably) scare people into thinking that you have a hippo in your yard. Needless to say, a couple pounds later and I had a hippo head of my very own. But it was in sad shape and no one wants a sad hippo. So I primed it

And then I gilded it and ta-da! The cutest little hippo head on this side of the Thames. (that doesn’t work as well as the Mississippi) I like to think that all it wanted its whole life was to be taken care of and made shiny and to sit on a desk in a warm house instead of floating on a murky bit of water.

The problem now is that I need something on the wall. Maybe several somethings. I have a few things that I think would make a fun mishmash but I need a couple more to anchor them together. I want to paint that wall so bad I can’t stand it! But we aren’t allowed to, so I will pine away over other people’s grey/teal/apple colored walls.

Ideas for the wall would be much appreciated, but no more animal heads please, we wouldn’t want to be tacky.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Have Hippo, Will Blog.

  1. Dad says:

    Is that kill resistant or kill “proof”?

  2. Cindy Williams says:

    Love the office and can’t wait to see what all you write from there!! You could do a fabric treatment on the wall. Or paint more pictures on canvas like you did your pink mixer pictures. You are multi-talented and I have no doubt that you will be inspired and will come up with something amazing!! Love you.

  3. HI! Just stopping in from our blogging your way class. Love the look of your blog. The hubby and I are on a path towards downsizing and clearing out unwanted/unneeded clutter. good to see someone else is succeeding in this task as well. it gives me hope! lol

  4. kalanicut says:

    Hi,

    I’m from your BYW class too. Trying to hit all fellow students blogs during the class period. I too am itching for an office space, although it’s not really possible with space at the moment — just put up my sewing table in area I had planned for me desk. I loved your inspiration, set up and your fab hippo! See you in class! Best, Kalani

  5. lollie says:

    How about some Curtis Grimes posters?? I can send you a picture of the stained glass sign at the Old Mexican Inn in Corsicana that I took in your honor. I am at the C—- Bed and Breakfast and having a great time.

  6. Jiji says:

    My favorite hippos from the movie Madagascar: Moto-Moto & Gloria. If you haven’t named your cute hippo, I vote to name her Gloria because Moto-Moto was a chauvinist and only loved Gloria for her body. 🙂

  7. lollie says:

    Another idea for the wall. A map of London with pictures of you and Mike as you explore the area. Your use of magazines was ingenious, no newspaper? Also, I have a friend who is one of the “jet set” and wears dresses that are unbelieveable. If you want me to send you her pics, I will be happy to share. She is living a dream of hers, not mine. Give me frito pie at a Friday night football game any day.

  8. Suzanne says:

    No more animal heads? Darn, I was gonna say you needed a the skull of a cow, being from Texas and all. I was actually going to say a Longhorn, thinking ONLY of the animal, but I was afraid your Dad would think I meant some OTHER type of Longhorn, & he might not like that.

Leave a Reply

