Planning Ahead

I have many, many fears. Snakes, burglars, riding the Titan at Six Flags and most of all…gulp…having regular children. One day Mike and I want kids and it is my fervent prayer that they are a bit weird, overly intelligent, bookish, musical and uncoordinated enough that I never have to sit through a soccer game. The thought of having a child who is properly socially adjusted and wants to go out for the varsity football team or even worse- cheerleader makes me lose sleep at night. As a child, I played basketball for 5 years without ever scoring and last year Mike chose to build a computer program that told him who to pick for his fantasy football team rather than learning anything about football so we really have the odds stacked in our favour for having some spectacularly interesting children.

But I like to plan ahead and what better way to encourage our kids to let their nerd flag fly than these:

Star Wars cookie cutters!! Sugary treats + nerd memorabilia = I will be the best mom ever! I can just imagine a tiny little boy who looks a lot like  running up to me and saying “love Star Wars cookies I do*” before running away to finish defragmentinging his hard drive. I think I need to get them now because you can never be too prepared and I also know a 30-year-old who would think that Star Wars cookies are pretty cool too!

*Yoda reference.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Planning Ahead

  1. Cindy Williams says:

    As the mother of a varsity football player and the mother of a former cheerleader (yes, you were – don’t try to deny it!) I hope you have children as spectacular as mine are! Whatever their interests may be you and Mike will be amazing parents – even if athletics are involved.

  2. Dad says:

    Don’t forget. You played on a “Varsity” basketball team as a 7th grader that went to state. Just how many girls do you think can make that claim?

  3. fishandchipsandsalsa says:

    Mom, please stop telling people I was a cheerleader. It was CCA and doesn’t count.

    Dad, thanks for calling what I did on the team “playing” rather than “filling the fifth person spot because everyone else failed.” That is really sweet.

  4. Carolyn says:

    #1 LUUU-UUU-UUUVVVVVVV the new look!
    #2 WHATEVER your children do, I hope they bring you half the pleasure you and your brother have brought me. May your joy be so great it produces the flood of tears it brought me from watching you! Suffice it to say, I can’t wait for those precious, geeky babies. How can they keep from being wonderful, considering the gene pool from which they will form?!?! Love you both!!!!!

  5. lollie says:

    Not coordinated enough for soccer, I love it.

    The new look and your comment about Covent Garden reminded me of eliza doolittle’s “flowers for your lady, sir?” Notice you are not the only one who can’t spell and doesn’t care if the “case” is correct. Have a safe trip home

  6. Kellie says:

    Andrea Lin! You make me laugh! If and when you guys have kids they will be so fun! I can think of a 46 year old that would love to have Star Wars cookies. And just so you know, going to a soccer game isn’t that bad . . . didn’t know you were a cheerleader and seriously you played basketball? (just kiddin’) You and Mike will probably have little ankle biters that will give any Librarian a headache and be able to fix any computer system while giving said Librarian that headache. Just can’t imagine you as a backstage Momma! ha ha

  7. Cindy Williams says:

    Sorry to burst your bubble but short, black and red uniforms plus cheers, yells and pyramids during games equals YOU WERE A CHEERLEADER!!! And a darned cute one to boot! You and Mike will have ADORABLE children who will no doubt be perfect in every way!!

  8. jiji says:

    Love Love Love the pink look! I too have missed you blogging. Can’t wait til those lil ones come along. John’s kids are getting to big to cuddle for very long periods at a time!

    Looking forward to see your bright smiling faces next week. XO j

Leave a Reply

