Blog Changes! Huzzah!

Things are a changin’ around Fish and Chips and Salsa. You probably won’t like them! You may love them! It doesn’t matter!

If you haven’t noticed over the past few months, my enthusiasm for the blog has been waning. Few posts. Blah posts. Sad posts. Every time I would think about the blog I would get nervous and feel like I needed to have something big and real to share because when we started this thing big and real things were happening all the time. But now? We are pretty acclimated. We don’t get lost; we know where to get everything we need; we have great friends; we both have jobs (!); and we walk around this amazing city purposely avoiding tourist spots rather than stopping and taking pictures. Constantly getting on here and writing about missing home and weird things about London was/is bumming me out hence the lack of posts- no one likes to have a hobby that reduces them to despondent tears. So I have decided- no more! I did briefly consider just stopping the blog but that made me sad. So I have decided to mix it up a bit.

I have been reading more blogs lately trying to figure out what direction I wanted to take F&C&S and realized that the blogs I really loved were a glorious mix of pictures, personal stories, decorating pictures, recipes, fashion and fun. I want to work on making the blog more fun. That will mean more posts. My goal is between 4 and 6 posts a week but they will be much shorter and less involved. Some of them won’t be very personal and some will be.

A note on censorship. One of my goals is to be a bit more myself on the blog and that will mean lowering the very high censorship bar that I have imposed on myself. I have made one intentional dirty joke on this bog so far and beat myself up about it for days. One of the reasons that I haven’t has a lot of fun writing the blog lately is because I am very concerned that people will see all my faults and not like me any more. So let me lay it all out there for you right now. I have a wicked sense of humor and delight in making inappropriate jokes. I curse too much. I would cross a hot desert for a good passion fruit martini. I am a complete tightwad who occasionally likes to splurge on something really fabulous. My taste leans toward the tacky but I like to call it eclectic. I can’t spell. I am a packrat/minimalist. I am an epic procrastinator who could happily live in a hazardously messy house as long as I can carve a path through to the bathroom/door/fridge/bed. There’s more but I am feeling a bit exposed right now. So if you are still interested keep stopping by. If not there are kazillions more websites that you can visit. See you soon.

My kitchen after a cake baking experiment last weekend.

Whew. See all that visual honesty? I feel better already. The cake was phenomenal though.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Blog Changes! Huzzah!

  1. Honey says:

    Thanks for the more often blogs. I really enjoy them regardless of content.

  2. Cindy Williams says:

    You forgot irreverent. You are all of the things you listed (except a minimalist) and so much more. I love the new look and can’t wait to see more each week. And I can’t wait to see you next week!! Love you.

  3. Nana says:

    I am glad you are not going to stop blogging. You had me worried for a while. I love the look of the kitchen after baking a cake. I want my kitchen to look like that again when you come home. I love it when you come here and cook. Not that I want you to work, but I know you love to cook and we love it when you do. Can’t wait to see you next week.
    See you soon.
    Nana

  4. Jamey says:

    Your grandfather is building a bigger kitchen for my show! Lol! Love the pink changes! See you soon!

  5. Debi Kirksey says:

    Sounds like the blog is going to be a lot of fun! Im staying tuned!

    Debi

  6. Looks like the pink revolution has begun. Huzzah indeed!

  7. Dad says:

    Just one little question, How did you find it??? The cake that is!

  8. lollie says:

    Well as for your foibles let me say one thing

    “Those that care don’t matter
    and those that matter don’t care”
    if you have a dark side;
    find humor in awkward places (hint, never laugh when the chair turns over with the student in it. );
    aren’t a neat freak;
    find an expletive the exact word you need in a situation;

    we missed you and your short skirt and cowboy boots at the reunion.

    I must tell you about the karayoke after party. After the reunion, Ben and Jeanne set up the karyoke machine in the meeting room of the hotel. Mitzy, Beverly, Jerry, John, Piper, Betty, Chantel, JT, Allison, Nelda, Bob and I just sang and sang. Ben decided to go ask the desk clerk if he liked karyoke and Josh said yes, so we cued up some modern song for him. Honey, it was like he was on American Idol. He didn’t just sing he wailed and preformed. We were all impressed, well , he left and came back in an hour and sang another show stopper. Near the end of the night he came in and did his finale, at which time he let us in on a little secret (he had preformed as a drag queen for 5 years), can you imagine the looks we tried to hide?
    Good times.

Leave a Reply

