The Sketchy Market

London is famous for its markets. Portobello Road, Spitalfields, Covent Garden, Petticoat lane, Brick Lane and Borough Market all come to mind immediately and conjure images of crepe stands, gorgeous fruit and veggies, vintage dresses, people sitting at tables sipping lattes. The market in our neighbourhood does not fit this bill. We call it the sketchy market and love nothing more than wandering around looking for treasures. It lacks some charm but makes up for it in its people watching. We went today and I was armed with my camera but didn’t get as many shots as I would have liked because I underestimated the menacing looks I would get while taking pictures in a market that specializes in counterfeit and stolen goods.

That would be a table of random shoes for sale.

For the latest in construction site chic.

Presentation isn’t much but the food is good.

A mini-Lowes.

Who is buying these stuffed animals? Eww.

Mike and I both have a thing for Welch’s strawberry soda. This does not taste like it.

Because we obviously need some weapons.

I have wasted 25 years of my life wearing dragon-less jeans. That stops today.

It will never be on the list of must-dos for tourists but it makes for a fun morning.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Sketchy Market

  1. Dad says:

    Are you kidding me! The best food in town. Watch your back with that camera!

  2. HAHAHAHAHAHA. Love it!

  3. Debi Kirksey says:

    Well, I must say that I haven’t made it to the Sketchy Market, but it certainly does have some character, so maybe I should add it to my list of things to do???

    I do think those dragon jeans have your name written all over them!

    Glad you got meet Cristen and Jason….

    Debi

  4. Carolyn says:

    So much more fun in the rain! 🙂

  5. Angelle says:

    Can’t wait to see the picture of you in the jeans.

Leave a Reply

