Quick Turnaround

So since my last post I have been back to good ol’ Texas for an impromptu 4 day visit. I will refrain from putting details here on the interweb but my mom had some health issues and was going to have surgery. I booked a ticket and conveniently forgot to tell her that I was coming. I left the details of my pick up from the airport to Jake, which I think was brave. He didn’t let me down and Dad was there at the airport to pick me up! The best part was getting to surprise Mom and know that I got to be there and she didn’t have to spend one minute worried that something would happen to the plane! I actually ended up missing the surgery but got to keep her entertained in the days leading up to it and all that fun stuff. I was so glad to get to go home for that and I debated and went back and forth for days before I realized that there was never even a question as to if I was going or not. I have told you before that more than anything else, my family is THERE. Always. We fill waiting rooms and bring food and retell the same stories over and over. I also want to take two seconds to thank the ever-wonderful Mike for staying home alone with the pups, lying to my mother about my whereabouts because she was trying to call me when I was somewhere over the Atlantic and most of all calming me down when I was fretting about work/tickets/schedules and telling me to just book a ticket and go because he knew how much it meant to me. For those of you who don’t know, Mom is doing much better and pending some lab results and a long recovery on a road to better health.

On a random note, my college roommate who moved to Boston and therefore making the likelihood that we will see each other in the next few years very small was visiting family with her husband who was also my close friend in college and their new baby daughter. We got to meet at Starbucks and catch up for a while and that was such an unexpected blessing on the trip!Me with Christen and Andrew:

I went straight from Heathrow to my desk on Monday morning and have decided that is the best jetlag fixer ever. Seriously. I went home and went to bed early and had to jump right back in to London time. It was the best transition I have had. I did purposely tell Mike to just let me sleep late on Saturday as a reward for getting up on time for work all week but other than that it was much easier than I thought it would be! I am so glad I went home and I am so glad that we are going back in less than a month!!

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Quick Turnaround

  1. Cindy Williams says:

    And it was SOOOO GOOD to have you here – even if my surgery was rescheduled. I certainly got to enjoy you more this way! And I think I still won the “pack the pew” award in the surgical waiting room that day! Can’t wait until next month! Love you.

  2. Debi Kirksey says:

    Andrea–so glad you got to squeeze in a visit. As much as we love this London life, being separated from family, especially at times when we want and need to be home is the hardest part. Glad your mom is doing so well.

    Debi

  3. Dad says:

    I think the most we had at one time was 12. This while I am reading the little sign on the wall that read, ” Please limit you party per patient to 2″. Sign? What sign?!!!

Leave a Reply

