WWABD?

When it comes to food, Mike and I try and to live by WWABD. With regards to eating at home that would be What Would Alton Brown Do? When eating out it would be What Would Anthony Bourdain Do? He likes real food served by real people for real people and he likes good food however unconventional. We have had St John’s restaurant on our list for a while now. Anthony Bourdain went there on his No Reservations London show and couldn’t sing its praises enough. St John’s is a Michelin star restaurant in North East London and they are famous for what they call Nose to Tail cooking ie the whole animal is fair game. If you don’t like posts with lots of food pictures, you won’t like this.

A lovely lamb broth. Absolutely delicious.

Giant bowl of mussels and wild garlic with crusty bread.

Wilted greens and Welsh Rarebit.

Middlewhite broad beans and chard.

Roasted bone marrow with parsley and shallots and grilled sourdough bread. Anthony Bourdain calls this his death row food and I completely understand why. Mike was very excited about trying it and I was skeptical. One bite was all it took for my conversion to a full-fledged marrow enthusiast. It is almost unexplainable it is THAT good it is buttery and meaty and rich and salty and chewy and mmmmmmmmmmmmmm. You scoop it out with a little silver thingamabob and slather it on the bread top with a little parsley and then slip into food coma. I am already jonesing for my next fix.

I usually stick to the chocolate side of the dessert menu but I had a strawberry meringue and it was light and creamy and tart and splendid.

Mike had fresh madelines that they make after you order them, and brought them to your table warm from the oven. Delicious.

We went to St John’s for our anniversary and left in a truly blissed out state the food was so good. Not one bad dish in the whole lot. It is in my top 5 favorite meals of all time and I can’t wait to go back.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to WWABD?

  1. Dad says:

    Man I am good. I guess WWABD before I hit the 2nd sentence! What is the big stuff by the beans and chard?

  2. Kellie says:

    @ Terry, I know I know! It’s a tenderloin (probably pork)!
    @ Andrea, YUMMO! Glad you guys had a great anniversary! Hope you are having fun with your mom!

  3. T-Nutts says:

    Andrea, I trust you, but that stuff does NOT look good! Marrow?? And what the heck is welsh rarebit. Sounds very wrong. Kinda like pineapple casserole.

Leave a Reply

