Is this thing on?

Well hello there. I need to start blogging again but I am a bit at a loss about what to write. The election? Don’t wanna talk about it. Mother’s Day? Tried to write something and made myself cry. The weather? Cloudy. Always. Need sunshine. Plans for the future? When we know, you’ll know.

Seriously though. I can’t wait to tell you more about the election and the campaign because it was the best thing I have ever done, but my heart still hurts when I think about it so I need some distance right now. But I will put this picture up that my facebook friends have seen before:

That is me with Boris Johnson the Mayor of London. He is the first conservative mayor in 30 years and extremely popular. I got to organize a visit for him to come to the constituency to campaign for us and it was a great day!

Also for those of you keeping track at home I am happy to announce that I am now the proud holder of a Master’s Degree in Government. Nothing adds fun to the last few weeks of a campaign like finals! I would like to take this opportunity to thank some people. My mom for meeting me in the Ennis Starbucks to proofread papers. My dad for scanning me many pages of textbooks that I couldn’t get over here in time. My beloved MacBook for not giving me one problem during this whole blasted degree despite being hauled over two continents and a trillion Starbucks. Most of all, my wonderful husband who has done nothing but encourage me to do this and support me in finishing even though it meant he went without food, clean house, clean clothes and it sometimes made me crazy. He has done everything from filling out forms to reading over papers to doing some of the problems that I didn’t understand and hugging me when trying to get this thing done has made me cry. His faith in me always bowls me over and makes me love him more.

So that is what is going on over here. I will be back to the several times a week postings so keep coming by. Thanks for all your support during this last month that I have been MIA. Love y’all!

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Is this thing on?

  1. Jiji says:

    I’m thankful that your “plate” has two less portions now. Even though the election was a positive experience for you; it was stressful. And, school…..it’s been a while since I got my Master’s degree, but I remember those sleepless nights and how guilty I felt because I wasn’t “The Best”. The best wife, the best mom, the best employee, the best student, the best housekeeper, the best, the best, the best…..

    Just know that YOU are The Best! I am so proud of you. And “M” for being supportive when your heart and soul needed him so desperately.

    Congratulations on the Degree! Job well done!!! Now, go have some well deserved fun! XO

    p.s. I will begin adding, “Please, more sunshine in London for Andrea.” to my prayers.

  2. Debi says:

    Congratulations on earning your masters degree! Way to go–that’s awesome. Look forward to reading more from you on the blog. I’d like to introduce you to my son and daughter-in-law this summer, when they move to London to work for a couple of years. Texas girls need to stick together!

    Guess you heard Cantina Laredo is opening up soon!

    Debi

  3. Dad says:

    I swear that if Boris would comb his hear back, he could be Donald Trump’s brother!

  4. Betty Bowden says:

    Well, apparently I have not replied to your blog in a while so my name was dropped from the comment section. I typed a long reply last week and when I went to submit it, it ask for my name and email address and in the process of trying to do everything I was supposed to I lost the reply. I spent about an hour writing and then lost it all. Anyway, Congratulations on your Master’s Degree. I know you worked hard for it and we are so proud of you. I am glad your work load has lifted somewhat and you can finally get some much needed rest. Take care and I hope to see you both soon.

Leave a Reply

