What a Rat

Remember when I said I would put up Scotland pictures? I lied. Because I’m tired. And we had such a wonderful time that I want to do it justice. And I have papers due. And dinner to make. And my suitcase is still not totally unpacked. We have

Days until the probable date of the general election. I have fewer days than that until all my schoolwork is due. So for the next few weeks, I am asking for a little grace and a lot of prayer. I will try my best to get the Scotland pics up this weekend. I am trying to learn more and more about the political system here in Britain. I was going to post some British political cartoons but they would be less than funny to you.

For all the keeping me busy that it is doing, work is great. I am really enjoying learning about British politics as well as being smack in the middle of a real campaign and learning lots of things that would easily transfer to any campaign anywhere. I have made good friends in the campaign and we are all working really hard!

Some of you probably saw my facebook status the other day about a rat. There is a rat in our office which we may or may not have named after the leader of the opposition. Before you ask it is a rat not a mouse- the body is at least 8 inches long plus nasty rat tail..and fangs..maybe not fangs but the size it not an exaggeration AT ALL. (We should be careful that it isn’t a spy, could there be some hanky panky unregistered animangus business going on?) There has only been the one sighting (which turned one of the campaign workers from a calm softspoken person to a yelling and cursing scaredy-cat). Apparently said rat did not enjoy his brief facebook fame because he chose my desk to hide under during his reappearance today and my foot to crawl on to alert the whole office to his presence. And I did let them know. Quite loudly and quite shrill-ly. I have been jumpy all day since it happened this morning. I can still feel it on my foot *shudder* and keep picturing it jumping off the wall behind me onto my back like a ROUS.

When they say that if you go into politics you end up working with rats, I had no idea it was so literal.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What a Rat

  1. Cindy says:

    Yuck! Yuck! Yuck! But also funny. I would pay money to have been there! Can you say rat-trap??? I think the campaign office should invest in some – the big ones. I am glad that I understand your Harry Potter and Princess Bride references. I am also so glad that you are enjoying your work! Imagine what that kind of experience will look like on your resume!

  2. Chris Coker says:

    For a crash course in Brit politics, just rent a few episodes of ‘Rumpole’; that should do the trick. Or watch some courtroom sketches from ‘Monty Python’- same thing. “ROUS”? LOL one of my FAVORITE films!”As you wish.”

  3. Dad says:

    Have you gotten your Rabies shot yet????

  4. Lollie says:

    Ew-w-w-w-w-w- wringing nose and squinty eyes. I suggest those lovely pink rubber boots. or put your feet in a really big box so at least the thing won’t run across your feet. The office needs a cat. From the size of the rat you might need a mountain lion.

    I know you are enjoying your experience with British politics. What a great experience to add to your already memorial British adventure.

  5. Lollie says:

    Pussy cat, Pussy cat
    Where have you been?

    I’ve been to London
    to visit the Queen.

    Pussy cat, Pussy cat
    What did you there?

    I frightened a little rat under her chair.

    I always considered this just a nursery rhyme. Maybe there is more too it than meets the eye.

    Maybe your close encounter is an omen and You will be the next Queen.

Leave a Reply

