Things I’m Loving

Things that are happening around here: working, school work and sleeping. Too much of two of those things and not near enough of one- make your own assumptions. Life is all about seasons and I have that from spectacular sources: the Bible and if that’s not good enough for you, also the Byrds. Currently we are in a busy season and I am loving anything that makes my life easier right now and things that make me laugh.

Smitten Kitchen’s granola bars

One of the things that I quickly remembered about working was how much more smoothly my week went when I would take time on Sunday afternoon to get ready for the week and make a meal plan for the week, make sure we had lunch stuff for everyday and make something to have for breakfast on the go. I made these chewy granola bars Sunday and they are so so so good. I like it because you can decide what to put in them. I used crasins, dates and walnuts but you can add coconut and raisins (blech!) or chocolate and almonds.

Debrett’s 2010 Lady’s Diary

I snagged this 50% off at Selfridges after the first of the year. I love my iPhone. Seriously LOOOVE. But I have a need for lists and writing things down and like seeing the week laid out and I especially like crossing things off once they are done. Having a physical diary (calendars and planners they call diaries) that is full of sticky notes, lists, meal plans, appointments, people’s birthdays and fun plans fulfills a deeply rooted need in me that I don’t quite understand but I don’t fight either. Plus it’s pretty. I especially love the first page which says, “You may be a princess or the richest woman in the world, but you cannot be more than a lady.”  -Jenny Jerome Churchill

Giant Longchamp bag

I have had to figure out a way to condense all the crap I used to haul around in my car with me to work every day. Extra shoes, book to read on the tube, lunch, bottle of water, regular purse stuff and an umbrella have to go in there but it needs to be light enough not to break my back, waterproof because it WILL. NOT. QUIT. RAINING. and durable enough to get smacked around in the tube rush hour every day. I love this bag.

Christian Audio

I love Christianaudio.com because they have free audio downloads every month! In February I downloaded Religion Saves and 9 Other Misconceptions by Mark Driscoll and this month they have The Cost of Discipleship by Dietrich Bonohoffer and Fifty Reasons Why Jesus Came to Die by John Piper. It is extremely easy to download and it comes in a various file types. Listening to these is a great way to not feel like I have wasted an hour of commute time and puts me in a great frame of mind for the day.

Great Stories

Why yes that is a totally randomly awesome picture of Andrea with someone whose name sounds a lot like Reverend Shmesse Shmackson. It was a total fluke photo-op and this is in no way a condoning of any of the crap that comes out of the Rev’s mouth. Amen.

So that is what is making my life better/easier/funnier right now. Hope you have a great week!

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Things I’m Loving

  1. Dad says:

    Are you sure that’s not one of those life size, cardboard cut-outs????

  2. Cindy says:

    You have got it all together! I keep getting it together and forgetting where I put it!! You have loved to keep a diary/journal/planner since you were very small so that doesn’t surprise me at all. We won’t even mention your love of bags!

  3. Carolyn says:

    My only question: Did you convert the Rev to our side of the aisle on Capital Hill? 🙂

  4. Dad says:

    One other question,,,,,,,,, Are going to tell us how long your shower was when you got home????

  5. Carolyn says:

    Responded way too quickly . . . I really do know how to spell “Capitol”! ):

  6. Andrea says:

    Dad- LOOOOOOOONG Shower!

    Aunt Ca- I don’t think that he is ever going to join the right! Also don’t feel bad about the misspelling- I can’t tell you how many times that I have had to go back and check/change how I spell Parliament.

  7. T-Nutts says:

    Umm, you with Jessie Jackson is the funniest freaking thing ever! How did that happen?!

  8. JiJi says:

    Aw Nuts, I bet you ruined Mike’s surprise! This is probably the picture that was going to be on everyone’s Christmas coffee mug! I still want mine though! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  9. Cindy says:

    I don’t! I have never turned down a picture of my daughter before, but I am afraid I would have to say no thanks to this one!!

  10. Those granola bars sound delicious! Hey, did that Mexican restaurant from Texas ever open here in London? Can you email me if you know anything new? I’d love a fajita hit!

    Happy weekend,
    Debi K

Leave a Reply

