A Texas Girl’s Guide to Winter

It’s not cold here. It’s coooooold.  I hear it is pretty darn cold in Dallas as well, but while you are enjoying the heat in your vehicles, we are walking everywhere trying not to slip on the ice! This is our second real winter here in London and we are getting better at it and have learned a few tricks to share with you. I am going to skip the whole put on a coat and warm clothes thing because if you can’t figure that out maybe you shouldn’t make it though the winter and let that survival of the fittest thing take hold. Some of my favorite products/tips for winter survival:

Visine for Contacts. This is in every bag and pocket that I own. Between the wind and cold when I am outside and the artificial heat when I am inside and the constant change between the two, I would be ready to claw my eyeballs out every 15 minutes. Regular saline solution is fine for the summer but this Visine is magical for winter dry eye.

L’Occitane Hand Cream. Buy it. Buy two. I have never been one to have hand cream in my purse but I have also never had my hands crack from cold and dry. This stuff lasts forever and doesn’t have a strong smell (you’re welcome, mom).

Gloves with open index fingers and thumbs.  Wearing gloves in the cold is an obvious choice, but these are better. These look a little ridiculous but darn if they aren’t handy. Last year I would be frantically digging in my bag for my phone whilst trying to yank my gloves off with my teeth and then I would miss the call or be forced to attempt to operate my phone with my nose. Even if you don’t have an iPhone, most phones have such little keyboards that you can’t hit just one button with gloves on!

Hot Baths: Sometimes when you get home and you have been cold all day, nothing will warm you up faster and more thoroughly than a nice hot bath. Also, I would commit a felony to have this tub.

TV Shows on DVD: Why because it is cold outside and you need to stay home and cuddle on the couch!! Sainsbury and Dominos both deliver and there is no reason you must leave the house at night. We are loving our new TV show dvds that we got for Christmas and have gone through them like crazy!

Hannahbelle and Kricket: These are the best foot warmers EVER! You should get one.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Texas Girl’s Guide to Winter

  1. We are currently freezing our booties here in Houston where it will be in the 20’s for three nights in a row. But alas, it is true, I’m driving myself to and fro in my heated Lexus with my heated seats, so I won’t complain. Your hints for survival are spot-on! Hang in there, girl!

    Debi

  2. Cindy says:

    Thanks for the heads up on the lotion! And I have to agree with the canine foot warmers. With Sniper on my feet and Stella snuggled up beside me,I have to throw off some of the covers during the night! It is so cold here and my heater at school went out today! Not good! I finally warmed up while grading papers sitting in my recliner under my heated blanket. Thankfully a wonderful man showed up in my room and braved the sea of boys to replace my thermostat and we will be toasty once again tomorrow. Stay warm. Love you.

  3. Cindy says:

    I also find it amusing to see the British vocabulary coming through in your blog – such as whilst.

  4. Dad says:

    I can’t hit just one button without gloves on!

Leave a Reply

