Go Tigers!!!

One day I was at lunch with some of my friends and somehow the subject of high school football came up. I tried to explain Texas High School Football. The more I talked about it, the more incredulous they were. When I said that the population of my town was 25,000ish and the football stadium holds 10,001 (Ennis’s stadium holds 10,000 so obviously ours had to be bigger) they didn’t believe me. When I said that my parents have had season tickets to all the games for years even when they didn’t even have a child in the high school they didn’t understand. We talked for a long time as I tried to explain it as best as I am able seeing as I don’t really GET it. And despite my not getting it, I found myself cheering for the Tigers at two games and a pep rally this season! The only thing that could lift my anti-school spirit ways?

This kid. Jake is on varsity this year and I knew there was no way that I could come to the states in the fall and not get to see him play football! The treat was that the Tigers wound up making the playoffs enabling me to see two games! And since they made the playoffs there was a city-wide pep rally downtown that I got to go to as well!

My favorite part of the game?

Just kidding! The nachos were second place. This was my favorite:

I LOVE embarrassing my little brother. I loved cheering him on so much that I decided to make him a sign so he knew how much I was rooting for him!!! 17-year-old boys love it when their sisters yell out cutesy nicknames in front of all their football team- true story. (Before you judge me, the whole time I was in high school I had a 7/8/9/10-year-old brother content to be an embarrassing monster all the time- he had it coming.)

The Tigers made it to the second round of the playoffs this year which is better than the last few years! It was a great treat to get to go and support Jake and get to see him play. I forget how grown up he is getting, and when you miss so much the little bits you get to see mean so much more!! Luckily though he will be a senior next year so I only have one more year to feign school spirit and then I can go back to apathy. Until then, GO TIGERS!!!!

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Go Tigers!!!

  1. Cindy says:

    There is nothing like Texas High School Football!! Loved the entry. You and your brother may grow up after all!

  2. Dad says:

    You are so right about Texas high school stadiums. You can even go to http://www.texasbob.com/football and it verifies that our stadium is one seat larger. It is kinda silly though.

  3. Lollie says:

    Friday nights and football, what could be better. Last week I had Daingerfield on the radio, Gilmer Buckeyes on the television, and was chatting on line with fellow Buckeyes. The Buckeyes won state. We too have had our season tickets since 1973, the year we graduated. Some of the Buckeye coaches are my ex students. The players are children of my former students. East Texas football, I do get it.

  4. Carolyn says:

    You are such a good sister!

  5. Jiji says:

    “Twelve Mighty Orphans” The book about the Masonic Home Orphanage and their coach who created one of the greatest football teams that Texas has ever known – the Mighty Mites.

    In the 1930’s people would ride the train from Ft. Worth and Dallas to Corsicana to the state championship game to sit in Corsicana’s stadium that then seated over 20,000! The movie rights have been purchased and I for one can’t wait to see it. Hope it is as wonderful as the book!

    The coach, of course, wound up at Highland Park ISD in the end! 🙂

    Even if you are not a football fan, you will love this book!!

Leave a Reply

