Christmas Time Redecorating!!

When I started to post pictures of our Christmas tree and all that jazz, I realized how much our living room has changed since I put up the first pictures of it well over a year ago. Some of you have seen some of the changes because you have been here but some of you haven’t.

It used to look like this:

We liked it and it worked but in trying to buy more subtle colors to replace all the crazy brights we had in Dallas, I started to feel like we lived in the Easter aisle at Target. I am just not big on pastels… or beige. Little things happened and we got a new sofa cover (yay IKEA!), got rid of some of the clutter and then we got rid of those horribly uncomfortable chairs and bought a sofa that has a sofa bed. We have had these changes for a while but I never posted pictures. But in the last couple of weeks we have done a lot of changes an it really looks different!

While we were in the states I asked Jeanne about going discount fabric shopping because I wanted something more winter/Christmas appropriate for curtains. (Our windows are so tall we have to have curtains made or special ordered and that gets $$$ pretty quickly!) She suggested using banquet length table cloths and said she had a few of the same red pattern that she found on sale. I was so excited and couldn’t wait to get them home, and I love them! When we were trying to figure out a place to put the Christmas tree Mike suggested something that would mean we would have to rearrange the whole room including the tv cabinet. I was hesitant because it was going to take more work and moving stuff that involves that many cables makes me nervous, but we did it and love the new layout. The last thing that we did was buy a rug. Now that the couches were facing each other and we had a defined floor space, it looked empty. So we did some comparison shopping at the bizarre store near the tube that sells everything from shampoo to furniture in a teeny tiny store and then went to the Sunday Market behind Sainsbury were you can buy everything from bootleg dvds to counterfeit handbags, to old electronic equipment to rugs- and some Jamaican jerk chicken to eat while you browse. We left with a rug! Here is our finished product:


New rug up close:

I think it is a pretty big difference! I also think our tree looks much prettier in person! We had a good time decorating while we watched Christmas movies. I love putting up the tree every year and I really love that Mike likes to help!

Hope everyone else if having fun decorating and getting in the spirit of Christmas!!

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Christmas Time Redecorating!!

  1. Cindy says:

    Your room looks amazing! Love the red curtains!

  2. Dad says:

    You have got to explain to me how you can make that living area look “empty”. Now that takes skill!

  3. Cindy says:

    And I love the rug!!

  4. Nana says:

    I love the changes you have made to your living room. It looks beautiful and very festive. Your tree is beautiful. I finally got my tree up and decorated and the rest of the villiages up. Jake thought his looked really good and I think he was glad I put it up. In the back of my mind I thought that I might not put up his and Devon’s village but I had a change of heart. I really miss you being here to do it.
    I hope you and Mike have a very good Christmas and just know that you will be missed.
    Love you both, Nana

  5. Dad says:

    May I say that is one, beautifully decorated tree. I really like it.

  6. Carolyn says:

    Gorgeous! Simply gorgeous!

  7. Jiji says:

    Beautimous!!! Just Beautimous!!! So beautimous I can smell the holidays thru the computer! You did a great job with last years’ after Christmas sale drapes! You are truly a “hip homemaker” in your spare time!

    p.s. I miss you guys!

Leave a Reply

