It Takes a Village

Not being home on Thanksgiving isn’t fun. Not being home the day after Thanksgiving SUCKS. The Friday after Thanksgiving (TFAT) is my favorite day of the year- and it has nothing to do with shopping. You couldn’t pay me to go to a mall on Black Friday. I love everything about TFAT eating leftovers, sitting around talking, making a run to WalMart for more Christmas lights, putting up Christmas trees, listening to the whole family yell at the Aggies, and eating pie at pretty much any time of day I want to. This year I was lucky- I got to do one of my favorite TFAT activities while I was home- put up my Christmas village.

When I was very little Nana started a tradition of giving me a Christmas music box every year. We put them up at her house but she said that one day when I grew up I would take them to my house so I would have Christmas decorations of my own. When I was in 7th grade (I think) she gave me the music box that goes to the Dickens Village (Department 56) and asked me what I thought about starting to collect the Dickens Village. I was ecstatic and we began adding to it over the years. Even though I am a grown up- sort of- and have my very own house we still put it up at Nana’s and I wouldn’t have it any other way! Putting it up with Nana every year is one of my favorite parts of getting ready for Christmas!

Confession: collecting this village has made me a Christmas village snob. No tacky glitter, iridescent snow and multicolored lights in my village. I can’t get over the detail in each and every piece. I love detail!

Before/Boxes out:

Finding a place for everything and being thankful that Honey is willing to drill holes in his beautiful furniture so Nana and I can plug everything in and hide all the wires!

Some of the pieces:

Andrea, Nana and the finished product!

It gets prettier and prettier! I am so glad that I got to put it up this year! Thanks for everything Nana!

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It Takes a Village

  1. Chris Coker says:

    We put up a village, too. It’s not Dickens; it’s JCPenney.

  2. Cindy says:

    It is beautiful and I loved looking at it over Thanksgiving. I just wish you were here helping me decorate our tree!

  3. Nana says:

    I am so glad we got to put up the village this year together. I had to do it by myself last year and it wasn’t ANY fun at all. You have always made Christmas such a fun time of year. I wouldn’t trade our time together for anything in the world. Not just Christmas time but all through the years. I loved our Saturday nights together and so did Honey. You are very special to us. ( I loved being BAD BETTY during our school sessions). Sooooo much fun. I could go on and on but I think you know how much you mean to both of us.
    Love you, Nana

  4. Suzanne says:

    Awwwwwwwwwww….bad Betty, you made me cry!!

Leave a Reply

