Things I Never Thought I’d Say

Someone threw up on our house last night.

Not on the curb BY our flat, not on the sidewalk in front of our flat, ON our flat. Luckily (if there is a luckily in this situation) it wasn’t on the windows or the door. I was home making dinner waiting on Mike to come home and heard the unmistakable sound of retching (barfing? ralphing? heaving? there is no good word). The dogs went nuts. No, I did not go check it out- I try not to interrupt people barfing on the street, common courtesy and all. Mike got home and said, “did you know there’s puke on our house?” I told him yes but I didn’t want to go out without him home because what if The Puker decided to pop a squat and recover? I filled pots and pots of hot water and Mike went and poured it on and washed it off. (That’s real love and marriage, folks.)

Someone asked us in the comments a while back if we liked living somewhere without a car and being dependent on the public transportation system. I kind of lump this question in with just living in a giant crammed city in general because it is impossible to discuss one without the other. The answer is: it’s frustrating but we love it. On a day-to-day basis, I love using the public transport. I love the tube and I am getting better at figuring out the buses.  I love that we spend ZERO dollars on gas and car maintenance. I like that I can get anywhere and I never have to find a parking spot. I like that my calves look awesome because I have to walk a half mile to get to the tube every day. I really like the walking culture of getting somewhere on my own feet and meandering down roads I would never explore, go into shops I would have driven right past and walking the city at night with Mike. Lest you think it is all roses and unicorns there are also times when it is a giant pain. I hate when I need to buy things bigger than a regular shopping bag and I get stuck in the gate going into the tube. I hate when I have to pay for a cab to the airport because there is no way I am getting all my crap through three tube changes. I hate that I have to go to specialty shops for everything and it takes all day and I know I could knock it all out in an hour at SuperTarget. Right now though, we love the city. We love walking and eating at dives and walking to pubs with friends. We love late night cab rides and little shops and the freedom of not having a car even though it would come in handy sometimes. Right now the trade off is worth it. Maybe it won’t be one day but for now, most days it is.

But then again, some days someone pukes on your house.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Things I Never Thought I’d Say

  1. T-Nutts says:

    So freaking funny!

  2. Dad says:

    Are you laughing about it yet?

  3. Nana says:

    YUK YUK YUK, that is all I have to say.

  4. Lollie says:

    You never cease to amaze me. Not everyone can turn a puked on flat into a interesting and funny story. I loved the response to the no car question. Your gift of writing could make waiting in line at the McDonald’s drive thru an adventure (oops, forgot you don’t have a car so no exhaust fumes or static microphone for you.)
    It is late and the grandson is redo-ing homework. One day maybe he will figure out doing it right the first time really saves time, but every preteen needs to find out things for himself.
    Mikey, I saw on the news the release of “where the wild things are” is scheduled for Oct 16. Wasn’t that one of your favorites??
    Speaking of the 16th of October, around here that means Yamboree, parades, livestock shows, roasted corn, corn dogs, carnival on the square and Barn Dance (where the otherwise “dry” town of Gilmer looks the other way while the citizens have one night of drunken revelry.) And who but Curtis Grimes is the opening act this year. I, being the good little Church of Christ girl that I am,have never gone to the Barn Dance but I think that claim is going to fall this year.
    Well, it is time for Grey’s Anatomy (do you get American TV?)
    Andrew update, 5 health papers complete. Only one essay, 3 english, and two math papers to go.

  5. JiJi says:

    Someone threw up in our front yard once. The grass didn’t grow there for over a year.

    You are a good man for washing off the puke Michael! I have a picture of you in my mind. Somehow it includes a large white towel tied kerchief style around your head covering your mouth and nose. You are bent over in the dark scrubbing the front of your beautiful flat. You’re a GOOD husband! Godspeed!

  6. JiJi says:

    The JOYS of living across the street from a pub! 🙂

  7. Cindy says:

    Behold the power of the preposition. Just makes all the difference in this case, doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

