Doner Kebab. Not the Reindeer.

Mike and I have a new food crush. I think everyone gets them sometimes- you try a new food and love it and then crave it constantly until you have eaten so much of it you have to wait a month before you can even think about it again. Well we are in the early love stage of doner kebab. What is doner kebab you ask?

From Wikipedia: Döner kebab (Turkish: döner kebap or döner kebabı, literally “rotating roast”, often abbreviated as döner, also spelled ‘donair’, ‘donar’, ‘doner’, or sometimes ‘donner’), is a Turkish dish made of lamb meat cooked on a vertical spit and sliced off to order. Two similar dishes are called shawarma in Arabic and gyros in Greek,[2]kebab in s although ingredients and sauces differ.

There is a place near us that we kept meaning to try but we a little scared. See, wouldn’t you be scared?

elhak

One Saturday Mike decided that we needed to try it and went and picked us up some doner kebab for lunch! I was hooked immediately. I went back to get some the other night and took pictures!

The actual thing they slice the meat off of:

IMG_1330

They also sell other kinds of kebabs and meat that look intriguing:

IMG_1331

Here is my doner kebab when I got it home. You can’t really see the pita but it is there!

IMG_1336

Those giant green peppers are one of my favorite parts. I think they are banana peppers but I am not sure.  Along with meat and pita they put peppers, onion, lettuce, tomato and chili sauce on it as well. The best part is Mike and I can both get pitas and fries for under 10 pounds! It is nice to have a food vice that is cheap and not horribly bad for you. I wish we had discovered it sooner!

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Doner Kebab. Not the Reindeer.

  1. kellie says:

    YUM!!!!!! THAT WAS ONE OF MY FAVORITE THINGS IN GERMANY!!! NO I’M NOT ANGRY . . . JUST SO EXCITED! LOVE LOVE LOVE DONER AND THE YOGURT SAUCE IS AWESOME!

  2. Nana says:

    It looks a little like Chinese food to me. I never know what I am eating when we eat Chinese. I guess that is the reason I don’t like it very much. I admire the fact that you are trying different things. I am afraid I would just stick to familiar stuff. (It couldn’t have anything to do with age, could it?

  3. Carole says:

    Reminds me of Istanbul! These were great – cheap, tasty and we could order online and a man on a scooter would bring them to us. SIGH! You are so lucky.

  4. I forgot about the kebabs! Never worked up the nerve to try one of those!!! It was the big strange cone shaped piece of meat that scared me just a little 🙂 Great post…

  5. Dad says:

    But can it stand up to a double meat Whatabutger with jalapenos, bacon and cheese????

  6. fishandchipsandsalsa says:

    Although I am more of a justaburger girl myself, I have to say if I had to pick between Whataburger and doner for the rest of my life- Whataburger wins hands down every time.

  7. Suzanne says:

    Those kebabs sound good…I’d probably try it. But as for Whataburger…I made a late night run for one of those tonight(11:30)…so glad they stay open late.

Leave a Reply

