Nana & Honey > Your Grandparents

Disclaimer: this is my blog not an encyclopedia. I get to say anything I want and if you don’t agree you can get your own blog. I am not trying to hurt anyone’s feelings or get anyone’s underwear in a knot. This is just what I think and in the land of fish and chips and salsa, what I think is right. Now on to today’s post.

Untitled-1a

My grandparents are better than yours. And yours. And yours. I don’t know who many of you out there reading this are but I know one thing, my grandparents are better than yours. You know that bumper sticker that says “my kid can kick your honor student’s butt” ? Well my Nana can kick your Nana’s butt and still make dinner, and my Honey can kick your…wait, no one else gets to have a Honey, just ME (and Jake and Devon but that’s beside the point).  I don’t know a lot, but I know that I won the grandparent lottery.

I have been playing around with this entry for forever and still can not come up with the proper angle. I have written posts for mother and fathers’ day and those were no less emotional, but I felt they were easier to define. Most people have mothers and fathers and know a great deal about those relationships. But for grandparents’ day? I have a hard time reconciling the nondescript title of grandparents with everything Nana and Honey are to me. I could tell stories for hours but I don’t know how well you would like a billion word blog post. I could tell you of Saturday nights and elevator rides and hours spent playing school, but I feel like there is no way I could convey their importance in a few words. I could tell you about all the things they have done for me but I don’t want it to seem I love them for the perks!

Let me say this. I wish the kind of love that they give me on everyone I know because it is one of the most precious things in my whole life. I hope everyone has someone who will see The Best Little Christmas Pageant as many times as Nana and Honey have willingly endured it. I hope you have someone who will take you to Braum’s for chocolate almond ice cream, run behind your bike when you are learning to ride, hide dollars in their shoes for when you get a good report card,  let you make terrible messes in their kitchen to this day, wear a pink tie to your wedding and travel all the way to London to see you. I hope you have someone who not only loves you despite your faults but doesn’t even see them. I hope you have someone whose presence in your life is nothing but joy. And if you have that, I hope you never have to move 5,000 miles away from them. I hope you never have to give them hugs knowing that you won’t get to give them another one for six months.

Nana and Honey, happy grandparents’ day. I love you more than I could ever put into words and I miss you every single day. I can’t wait to see you soon. Love, Andrea

I am sure all of you have wonderful grandparents and I am in no way trying to insult them. Mine are just better.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Nana & Honey > Your Grandparents

  1. Cindy says:

    Once again you have left me torn to bits between laughter and tears. You are truly blessed to have a Nana and Honey like no other. Your relationship has always been one for the books. It cannot be beat! Once again I let Grandparents Day sneak up on me and I felt bad. (When will I remember it comes in September?) But then, since I gave birth to you, I get to take credit for you! And you are the best present they could ever recieve. Love you, Mom

  2. fishandchipsandsalsa says:

    They would rather you forget- they don’t need another dog.

  3. Lollie says:

    Once again you inspire me. thank you for reminding me of the precious memories of my grandparents and how it is that you remember chocolate cakes with fudge icing, or cooking left over pie crust that look like fingers. Mikey does not remember the farm, climbing the boards of the lot, playing in the barn, fishing in the pools, doing the warshing “washing” with a ringer machine, the bunk house or fried chicken at Mama Jo’s but he and I do share a wonderful grandmother.
    You have reminded me that to be a grandparent it doesn’t take great wealth just an unconditional love and willingness to not be judgmental. It is to understand that perfection is not what it is cracked up to be. It is to sit in wonder as a twelve year old rambles about remote control cars and see the logic begin to develop.
    I am so happy for you to have a Honey and Nana. I don’t know how you were able to type about the long goodbyes and realization of months spent apart. I once again thank you and Michael for the vicarious experiences.

    God Bless and God speed

  4. JiJi says:

    Once again you move me beyond words, but this is a precious tribute to your grandparents. I love you both dearly and miss you both much. love, jiji

  5. Nana says:

    Thank you sweetheart for the wonderful grandparents day tribute. You really know how to make the tears flow and you will never know how much JOY you have brought into our lives. When I found out that I was going to be a grandmother, which I waited 7 years for, I never imagined what a joy I was about to receive.
    Honey and I loved every minute of our times with you. I could go on and on but I just want you to know how much we truly love and miss you and we are so proud of you.
    We love you so much, Nana

  6. Suzanne says:

    I don’t want to make you jealous or anything, but I had the wonderful pleasure of seeing your “Honey & Nana” on Saturday at an anniversary party here in Tyler!! They looked great & I’m so glad I got to see them.

    :-)~ (That’s me being mean & sticking my tongue out at you!! Neener, neener)

  7. kellie says:

    you do have an awesome Nana and Honey! We like borrowing them . . . remember when Honey fixed the plaster a paris (sp?) for Kate in Little Women? only a Honey would have taken the care to get it just perfect for her!

    Love the blog for today!

Leave a Reply

