Andrea’s Museum Theory

Carole pointed out in the comments of the last post that I do not tend to love museums. This is both true and false. I want to explain to you my museum theory. Here it is:

If you don’t care about something 364 days of the year, you do not have to pretend to care about it the one day a year you are in a museum focused on it.

I am all for going to all kinds of museums and hitting the high spots so that I can learn new things, because I love learning. However, meandering through reading every plaque and listening to every audio guide and doing those awful interactive display things is something I only do at museums of things of which I am really interested. I also don’t think that you should feel guilty if you don’t want to go to a museum that does not interest you at all. Why? Because there are museums about EVERYTHING. How much time have I spent in the British Transportation Museum? None. How much time do I anticipate spending in it before we move home? None. How much guilt do I have over this decision? None. See how easy that is? It is much like my Valentine’s Day theory, which is: if you love someone, you love them every day of the year and doing something special on Valentine’s Day is a great treat, but if you are a total jerk 364 days a year, flowers and chocolates on one day don’t mean anything other than you have a calendar and a guilt complex.

So that is the Andrea (world’s worst sightseer) Museum Theory in a nut shell. I also have to admit that my favorite part of every museum is the gift shop. Period. We are planning on going to the Vatican museum and I am also hoping that they have some kind of ride to take a turn on the Pope-mobile but I won’t get my hopes up.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Andrea’s Museum Theory

  1. Cindy says:

    Having spent the last 24 years traveling with you, I can truthfully say that you summed it up well. Now, about the trees…..

  2. jiji1 says:

    I hear that most museums are closed on Mondays, so depending on your travel dates you might just be in luck! But then again a ride on the Pope-mobile might really be fun! Be sure and send us all “blessed” post cards from the Vatican post office. (Read this cute post here: http://athomerome.blogspot.com/2007/01/youve-got-blessed-mail.html )

    What about the trees? Tell us more.

  3. Dad says:

    Don’t you say a word about those trees!!! LOL. But I promise never to take to a museum ever again.

  4. Lollie says:

    I’m with you, all the museums I have gone to because it is “the accepted protocal” haven’t been worth the effort. ie. Chinese warrior and King Tut, but I think I would rather visit those than to go to the “shoe museum” with Jiji. I love you Jiji but I had much rather garage sale with you than go to a “shoe??? museum” well each to his own.

  5. kellie says:

    Hear Hear Andrea!

    When in Rome . . . you must go to the Spanish Steps! Everyone sits on them and reads the paper, I imagine now they check their Blackberry! Also, eat some Gelato, YUM! Don’t forget to toss 3 coins in the fountain! What else can I remember from 25 years ago?

    Oh, don’t hold your breathe on the Pope-mobile. However, being in Vatican City is “cool”!

  6. JiJi says:

    I’m still wondering about the trees.

Leave a Reply

