TOMS Twinkies!

Moving from a valet parking happy city like Dallas to a holy-cow-we-walk-everywhere city like London has changed our life in many ways, but no area more than footwear. Especially me. Now I have bags and bags of my lovey lovey high heels in the back of the closet instead of on my feet. In Dallas, I wore them every day- to work, to dinner, to the movies-anywhere. If the shoes were especially fabulous (read:high) my darling husband would drop me off at the door and then go park so my feet didn’t hurt. That nonsense all came to a halt the day we moved here. We estimate that the walk from our flat to the tube is a little less than 1/2 a mile. So just to walk to the tube and back for the day, you are putting in almost a mile in whatever shoes you have chosen plus whatever you do once you actually go somewhere! Therefore my shoe collection has become a sad mixture of flats and tennis shoes. Mike and I bought matching pairs of black Converse All Star trainers last winter and have been loving them! We also kinda like having matching shoes- we think it is humorous. What am I rambling about shoes for?

I ran across an article about TOMS shoes soon after they debuted in 2006 and I was intrigued. Blake Mycoskie is a SMU dropout and Amazing Race alumni and he started a shoe company on the principle that for every pair of shoes purchased, the company gives one pair to children in need. In just a few years more than 140,000 pairs of shoes have been given away to children in the US, South Africa, Argentina, and Ethiopia. I assumed that the shoes would be horribly uncomfortable and only for people who wore shirts made of hemp and laid on the beach all day, but I was wrong. They are incredibly comfy and wearable! So now Mike and I have added another pair of shoes to our bizarre matching shoe collection:

IMG_1249

I have worn these for several days and didn’t even have “breaking in” blisters. Mike loves them and has worn them constantly! I love the new colors for fall and we may have to expand our collection. Check out the TOMS website to learn about the company, see more shoes and even watch a video about their shoe drop trips. I am always inspired by people who see a need and work to fill it and therefore I’m happy to pay a few dollars extra for shoes so that a child somewhere will get a pair as well. So next time you need a pair of walking shoes, consider TOMS- we’ll be twinkies!

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to TOMS Twinkies!

  1. Angelle says:

    Like the new look, was a little confused when it first poped up.

  2. Dad says:

    WHOAAAAAAA! I almost clicked off thinking I had the wrong site! Its easy to confuse the elderly you know. LOL.

  3. jiji1 says:

    Love the new look! Was confused at first, but I’m easily confused.

    Matching shoes, hmmm. Ask Michael about Aunt Ann and Uncle Gene. They always wore matching shirts. We always thought it odd, until this summer when we were on vacation and one day accidently wore the same color t-shirt. It actually made finding each other easier in a crowd of people.

    So, here’s hoping that your matchy matchy shoes help you keep up with each and give you (and some small child) happy feet!

  4. Cindy says:

    Your new look caused much consternation when I opened it up yesterday! I thought I was going to have to plead with the technology dept again. Love the new shoes. Don’t worry, you can regain your love of high heels when you return to the states.

  5. Lollie says:

    Jiji stole my Mama Ann remembrance. It may have been cute to some but somewhat embarassing for the daughters. That said it is a wonderful memory which makes Mama Ann even more outstanding.
    I don’t know what Converse all star trainers are but I certainly know and remember the feel of Converse All Star high tops. Those were the only basketball shoes available, there were no Puma, Nike, Adidas. It was like the model T, you could have any color you wanted as long as it was black. You could have any color you wanted in a Converse All Star as long it was canvas colored. I don’t remember when black ones made their debut.
    I wondered about those Toms when I saw them in the Arlington Whole foods. I think with your recommendation I’ll invest in a pair.
    Tonight was meet the teacher which means school is beginning soon.

Leave a Reply

