Wicked!!

I have accomplished my goal of seeing Wicked on two continents!

IMG_1245

One day some friends and I were talking about musicals and Sarah said she had never seen Wicked.  I took this as a personal affront and vowed to her that we would remedy that immediately! Wicked tickets are still expensive because it is a popullar (!) show and we are smack in the middle of the biggest tourist season of the year. I also don’t really like to support all those sketchy ticket booths around the theatres. I am strictly a box office or TKTS girl. So got to digging on the internet and found that they sell 24 front row tickets for each show at the box office only on the day of for 25 pounds. Each person can only buy 2 and it is first come first served. I decided that this would be our best way to see the show without breaking the bank! The husbands weren’t interested (Mike has seen it) and so we decided to make it a girls night!

The box office opens each day at 10am and at first I thought getting there by nine should be fine then the more I did a little research the more I decided I needed to get there early to make sure I not only got tickets but got closer to the middle rather than the sides. So I hauled my hiney out of bed at 6:00 and was at the theatre on the steps by 6:45. Sad thing? Wasn’t the first on in line. There were 7 people before me, however most of them were getting tickets to the matinee. I brought a book and a sweatshirt and was happy to curl up on the stairs for a few hours of quality reading time. Towards the end of the wait I began to talk to some of my fellow waiters. Many people don’t realize that Wicked has a fandom much like a StarWars/Trek, comic book, superhero type fandom. Of course it isn’t as large as StarWars but it comes complete with screaming fans, tons of merchandise, obsessive websites. Some of these girls that I talked to go see the show every time there is a major cast change and talk about who is a better Elphaba with fierce opinions. Once I told them that I saw Wicked on Broadway with Kristen Cheneoweth and Idina Menzel (the original leads) I became queen of the Wicked fangirls. They had so many questions and wanted details. I fond it quite hilarious. In the end I got my tickets and Sarah and I were off to the show that evening!

The show was AWESOME. It is the third time that I have seen it and each time just makes me want to see it again! No one is ever going to be Kristen Cheneoweth EVER; the part was practically written for her, and she IS Galinda. However, the girl that played her was spectacular and did such a good job. We saw the understudy for Elphaba. Usually I don’t like seeing the understudy but the girls in the line informed me that the understudy was better than the regular girl and we were not disappointed in the least. This girl was truly amazing. She didn’t have a voice. She had a VOICE!!! She had me in the palm of her hand after “The Wizard and I.” Sarah loved it and that made me so excited- I love converting people.

We had such a good evening seeing the show. I loved the front row because it really felt like we were right in the middle of the action! I definitley think that it should be on your list if you are in London (or New York or Chicago) and I will happily go get tickets a 6 am again- as long as I get one of them!

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wicked!!

  1. Carole says:

    The puppies rejoice!

  2. fishandchipsandsalsa says:

    I can’t let down puppies 🙂

  3. Dad says:

    Hey, I am still waiting on two, First Class of course!Haul you hiney out girl!

  4. Chris says:

    I LOVE Wicked! Saw it years ago in Dallas. How does it play with British accents in Oz? I know I would love it. Yes, Chenoweth IS Galinda and Idina IS Elphaba; although in Dallas Kendra Kassebaum (Galinda) and Stephanie Block (Elphaba) were pretty spectacular. Saw Idina and Josh Groban on PBS in a production of ‘Chess’. Looking forward to PBS presentation of ‘Hamlet’ with David ‘Dr Who’ Tennent and Patrick ‘Cpt Picard’ Stewart!

  5. Jamey says:

    I am so jealous.
    After all, we all can’t come and go by bubble!

  6. Lollie says:

    I got the Popular illusion. And for those who don’t know your wedding included a song from Wicked. This girl really loves Wicked. Candice and I have seen it twice and we are among the fandom. I made a Sr. video of my students and used the Limited/I have been changed audio. My students cried, I used it as a college project and the teacher’s cried, and I showed it at the conference this summer and strangers cried. It has so many levels of meaning. You and Mike may not be “defying gravity” but certainly “because I knew you, I have been changed…. for good”

Leave a Reply

