Mexican Food Heaven

Saturday night we did an old school date night complete with a romantic comedy and Mexican food. We went to Cafe Pacifico in Covent Garden. I wrote about them a long time ago and I was a bit harsh. We had just moved here and I was suffering from a pretty bad case of fajita withdrawal. But we went back and I have to admit that this was good:

IMG_0168

By good I mean that it tasted like real honest to goodness Guacamole. The rest of the meal was pretty good as well. I don’t like their rice and the beef was meh but as a whole it really didn’t suck- that is a compliment for London Mexican food. Trust me. During our wait and meal we played a game that we always play. We come up with a restaurant comprised of our favorite components of other restaurants. This time we played it for Mexican food!

Mike and Andrea’s Mexican Heaven

Chips & Salsa: Andrea- Chilis; Mike- Pepe & Mito’s
Dip: Old Mexican Inn Orange Dip
Margarita: Andrea- Mi Cocina; Mike- La Hacienda Ranch
Tortillas: Pepe & Mito’s
Guacamole: El Chico
Fajita Beef:
Uncle Julio’s
Sopapilla: Don José’s Mexicant Restauran

A few things you should know. Mike and Andrea’s Mexican Heaven only serves fajitas. There are only beef fajitas. That point is non-negotiable. El Chico is laughable in some respects but that guacamole that they make right at your table is definitely with the $5 or whatever they charge these days. Every restaurant we frequent seems to have adequate cheese and sour cream so I didn’t feel the need to pick these. We don’t ever order queso and aren’t big pico de gallo people either.

In hopes to liven up the comment section I will turn it over to you- comprise your Mexican Restaurant Heaven!

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Mexican Food Heaven

  1. Nana says:

    Honey and I don’t have many choices but we like Don Jose’s Wednesday night special. However, we are getting a little tired of the same thing so we try different things, usually we split an entree, however it is starting to show around the middle so we are going to eat at home for awhile. I don’t know how long it will last but it is worth a try. Have fun on your date nights. That sounds like fun.
    Love you both, Nana

  2. Carolyn says:

    I’d like to make reservations at Mike and Andrea’s Mexican Food Heaven Restaurant please?!? Sounds delicious! I should never read your food blogs right before I go to lunch because something tells me that the Taco Bell tacos I’m about to eat will fall WAY short of what your “menu” conjured up in my head! 🙂

  3. andrea says:

    I believe there is a time and a place for everything. Sometimes fine foods be darned- I just want a chalupa (sp?) I have some darn fine memories from taco bell. Also the later it is, the better taco bell tastes- proven fact!

  4. Carolyn says:

    True, true! The later, the better. FYI: Lunch is NOT late enough! All I could think about was Chili’s chips and salsa and OMI’s orange dip! BTW, I love that restaurant game; I think I’ll play it sometime. And just know this . . . in my restaurant heaven there will be NO SWEEPING!!!!!

  5. Angelle says:

    I will eat at anyones pretend mexican resturant as long as they serve a mean frozen margarita

  6. Dad says:

    Should I be afraid to ask? What is that in that picture???

    • kellie says:

      I’m with you Terry! I’m afraid to ask, I’m thinking its guacamole. Thinking we need to figure out how to get avocados into London for Andrea and Mike. They really need some real salsa too . . .

  7. T-Nutts says:

    You don’t order queso!?! This calls our friendship into question.

  8. Lollie says:

    Well, Mexican food is one of my favorite topics. OMI orange sauce is one of a kind and always worth the stop on the way to Austin. I also like the Dr. Pepper’s in the bottle. In Gilmer, LaFinca is the hit and they also have a branch in Allen. For downtown Rosewood the best, well the only restaurant (Mexican or otherwise) is Tele’s. But the absolute best Mexican food is with my sister’s on Christmas day. We do beef enchiladas (just like Mama Ann used to make) and Chantel makes chicken. If we are very lucky Uncle B and Aunt J bring there salsa.

  9. Debi Kirksey says:

    I’ve enjoyed peeking at your blog, and can certainly empathize with your longing for good Mexican food in London. What was the name of the Mexican restaurant that you told me was coming to Piccadilly Circus this fall? I’m currently in Houston, where I enjoyed both lunch and dinner at Mexican restaurants yesterday. I know you understand that concept! Hope to see you back in London in September.

Leave a Reply

