Tea for Three

Our good friends Kate and Adam are ending their time in London this week. It is the nature of the beast I suppose, that if we are all in these temporary living arrangements that some people’s temporary is over before ours. It is really sad and we will miss them so much! But as part of Kate’s farewell to London she, Katie and I went to tea at Kensington Palace on Monday. We had a proper good time at the Orangery Tea Room. I hadn’t been to a real afternoon tea since I had been here but it will definitely not be the last!

We began with delightful cucumber and cream cheese sandwiches on poppyseed bread:

IMG_1234

Then we had scones with clotted cream and jam. I am not a huge fan of the cream but don’t tell the British people- they LOVE that stuff:

IMG_1235

My pot of Darjeeling tea. It was quite delicious loose tea but I have to admit I still can’t really handle milk in my tea!

IMG_1236

Three ladies at tea! Note the little orange tree on the table (we were at the Orangery- get it?)

IMG_1237

A cuter pic of Katie and Kate (Kate in yellow, Katie in pink)

IMG_1238

Afternoon tea is definitely now on my list of things to take people to when they come visit. But you will have to come over to have it!! Nana & Honey- let me know where you would like me to book our Christmas tea!

* There was also cake. Delicious orange cake with orange cream cheese frosting so good that it didn’t last long enough to be photographed. But really? A picture of it without you being able to have some would have just been cruel.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tea for Three

  1. Cindy says:

    I love that you wore your feathers in your hair for the occasion!

  2. Nana says:

    You know we would like nothing more than to come over and have tea with you but I am afraid that is a dream that probably will not come true. I was glad to get your new blog. I was beginning to think you had stopped writing. Honey and I look so forward to hearing from you.
    We love you, Nana

  3. Dad says:

    Playing while the men toil. What a life! LOL.

  4. kellie says:

    Andrea, when and if I ever make it over there we will definately do tea! What is a proper trip to London without afternoon tea? Cucumber sandwiches are one of my favorites, but mine are very “country” not “high society”!

  5. jiji1 says:

    Love the blog. I am so glad you are back!
    Is that a bow in your new hairstyle! I’m liking it! I love that everyone in London is so fashion forward. Miss you both sooo much!

Leave a Reply

