Still Wearing My Gryffindor T-Shirt

Andrea’s Review of Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince.

Disclaimer 1: If you aren’t a Harry Potter fan feel free to skip this review. And by skip this review I mean get thee to a bookstore and buy the books, read them and then watch movies 1-6 and come back and read it. Anyone that tells me they will just watch the movies instead of reading the books gets knocked in the head.

Disclaimer 2: I know some Christians have a big problem with the HP series as a whole because of the witch/wizard stuff. I have no such problems with the books because I see them as a good vs. evil story along the same lines as Lord of the Rings (which also has magic). I also find them to have better moral value than most of the literature out there today.

The real review:

There was absolutely no way I was going to like this movie. Was I excited about seeing it? Definitely. Will I see it again, buy it on dvd and watch it an obscene number of times at home? Absolutely. Will I ever really like it? No. My reasons for this are twofold. One, because this is my absolute favorite book of the series, hands down. It is just wonderful. It is also around 700 pages. Chances of getting all of that magic into a 2.5 hour movie? Zero. The movie would have had to be 5 hours to even attempt to get everything. Mike and I agree that we would have had no problem with a 5 hour version. The second reason is that the end of the movie is one of the saddest things that I have ever seen in my life. I cried, and not those silent couple of tears reserved for when they finally free Willy or Shadow comes home, but a real hiccupping, snot filled sob fest right in the middle of the theatre, because HOW COULD HE DO IT!?!?!?!?!?! NOOOOOO!!!!!!!

Without comparing it to the book, the movie was really excellent. This series should go down in history as the best cast series of all time. I saw stills from the set months ago and was disappointed with the casting for Slughorn because he wasn’t what I had pictured in my head. However, he was pitch perfect and I remove my disappointment. The same regulars were all there and AMAZING as always- Dame Maggie Smith, Alan Rickman, Julie Walters, and most of all Michael Gambon- I salute you and your always delightful performances. Harry, Hermione, Ron- your acting lessons are paying off. Please don’t quit them. Even if you don’t like Harry Potter the movie is worth seeing for Helena Bonham Carter as Bellatrix Lestrange. Evil crazy has never been done so well. You absolutely hate her because of the thing she did in 5 (among all her past deeds) but there is no denying that she is flawless. The sets are wonderful and I think that Mike cried when the Burrow burned- he wants to be a Weasley. Don’t we all.

I am still overwhelmed by it all and will definitely be seeing it again soon. I have one HUGE MAJOR ENORMOUS problem with the movie. If you would like to know what it is I will be happy to tell you but I don’t want to put here because it is solid spoiler material and I still have hope for those of you who haven’t read the books- just email me or let me know in the comments. But go see the movie, or read the books or whatever because the best part about HP is talking about it with your friends!

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Still Wearing My Gryffindor T-Shirt

  1. Cindy says:

    I want to know!! I saw the movie last night and loved it. Still refuse to accept Dumbledore!

  2. Jake says:

    ummm the book was 652 pages long and I read it actually cover to cover in only 3 days. And yes I agree I will not the movie as much as I did the book because the book was absolutely brilliant.

  3. Chris says:

    So what was your Huge Major Enormous problem with Half-Blood Prince?

Leave a Reply

