Home and Home Again

kiddos

I am a really bad blogger because every time something of importance happens I get on here and prattle on about having no words to explain it. I can gush about grocery delivery, Harry Potter, and fajitas- but the real moments that make life memorable? Clam up. (Internet high five to the first person to name that WLAC reference) But I have decided to try it because we still have bare bones internet which means that I can’t use my usual trick- posting lots of pictures!

I haven’t spent such a long time in Corsicana since I was 19. Sure I went to Dallas many many times for shopping and dinners and shopping and dinners but every night my head was on a pillow in The Can. It was good. It was weird. I had a blast. I think I should also say something in case anyone ever doubts me: I love Corsicana. Do I joke about it? Absolutely, but so does everyone else. Do I think I want to live there again? Probably not, but that is more because I don’t think it is realistic because Mike’s career will always keep us in or near a big city. Do I think it is perfect and idealize it as a small town utopia? hahahaha … no. But I know so many people I respect so much who pour their lives into making that town better in every area, and it was nice to get to enjoy it for a bit. I tried to look at least decent when I left the house because that one time you run into Walmart in no makeup, bed head and yoga pants you run into everyone you know. (Don’t believe me try it, I’ll wait. ……….See? )

It was nice being home without a major holiday to have everyone so tied up. I had millions of great lunches and dinners and breakfasts with some people I haven’t seen in years and even more that I get to see more often but not enough. I have been spoiled my whole life having a family that is close not just emotionally but geographically. Now we have to work at it a bit but it really makes me savor the time we do have together. I have so many memories crammed into the last two weeks that I will never forget.

As always the hardest ones to leave are the ones that change. Tyler, Reece and Blair have all grown a foot and Jake is turning into an adult before everyone’s eyes (he is also getting more like me I have decided). I got to see Reece play tball, discuss iphone attributes with Tyler and bake cupcakes with Blair. And strangely, it seems to have taken me moving out of the country to make me and Jake friends. With his trip in March, June and then my trip home, we have spent more time together than we have in YEARS and more time willingly together than we have EVER. Some of the things that come out of that kid’s mouth make me laugh so hard, but then again some make me cringe. I act like a teenager when I am with him- I at 24 finally cruised 7th. The whole nine yards too- blaring loud music, looking at cars in parking lots and at one point we even turned around to follow some girls (Jake was driving). I never cruised 7th when I was in high school- the Acura wasn’t cruising material! We had so much fun it should be illegal- well maybe some of it was.

As for the rest of my family time, it was the best. I am always a little emotional when I come back from being in Texas and this time is no different and I am in a public cafe so I will keep that short and sweet. And as much as I love blogging and sharing- sometimes I like to be a little stingy with my memories.

I also can’t help but contrast when I came back to London after a quick solo trip last summer. I was pert near a basket case. This time felt so much better. It really felt like coming home because no matter where it is, home is where Mike is. I missed him so much and missed our life together and for now our life together is in London. But Texas, you’ll always have my heart.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Home and Home Again

  1. Dad says:

    What do you mean the Accura wasn’t meant for cruising? I’m hurt! LOL. Dad

  2. Nana says:

    I am sorry to be so long replying to your blog. I just want you to know how much we enjoyed your visit. I wish it could have been longer but I know you were anxious to get back to Mike and I know he missed you terribly. I am glad you and Jake spent some quality time together. There is so much going on around here that Honey decided he wanted to go to London for Christmas.ha
    We love you both, Nana

  3. Suzanne says:

    Finally…I was having “Fish & Chips & Salsa” withdrawals! I was in Corsicana yesterday for David Coley’s funeral & got to talk with your Mom. She told me that your internet has been down for a month or so…don’t think I could survive that! I’m glad you can go to a public place to get online, but I’m sure that’s a pain.
    Glad you had a great visit home, & happy for you that you’re back home with Mike.
    Keep up the good work with the blog…I enjoy it so much!

Leave a Reply

