Leaving on Jet Plane

I feel like I am going to camp all over again. I went to Kanakuk Kamp (misspelling intended) for four years. I looked forward to it the whole year because it was the most fun week of the summer. I knew how much fun I would have, and yet every year when I had to get on the bus to leave, I would freak out and want to stay, because I hated to say goodbye, and I hate missing people. That feeling is what has made this move so hard in the first place, but now it is coming back the other way. I am leaving tomorrow morning to come to Dallas. By myself. We knew when we moved here that I would be making more trips home than Mike would and in theory it is a good idea. But in reality I have to say goodbye tomorrow morning for two weeks. And it sucks. I am beside myself excited to go home and see everyone and have been looking forward to this trip for months. But I am a little sick at my stomach with that familiar homesick feeling that has plagued me so many times before. Since the day we met more than 5 years ago we haven’t been apart that long and it would be fine with me if we never were again. I said all that to say I’M COMING HOME!!! I’ll be home for two weeks and I am really looking forward to seeing everyone, shopping, eating Mexican food and doing all that fun stuff. Being home at Christmas was wonderful but it was so busy and we were trying to do all our Christmas shopping, Mike was working, we had tons of Christmas parties to go to and it was just all around holiday craziness. This trip promises to be much different because I have no to do lists and I am just playing everything by ear. If I know you- I hope I get to see you. If you can’t find me I suggest driving a loop around Corsicana making stops at Whataburger, Taco Shop and Old Mexican Inn. My minicab will be here in a few hours and I have to go snuggle my hubby a bit more before I have to leave him for two weeks. See you soon!

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Leaving on Jet Plane

  1. Dad says:

    We’ll do our best to make that “good bye” worth the trip. Love ya,
    Dad

  2. Nana says:

    Can’t wait to see you. I know Mike will miss you terribly, but we are going to love having you here for a while. I only wish Mike could come with you. We will see you in about four hours.
    Love You, Nana

  3. Amy says:

    Andrea
    We would love to meet you and the Bowden clan for lunch one day. Are you coming to Dallas?
    Amy

Leave a Reply

