Happy Father’s Day

*NOTE* There will be no witty picture because internet is still an issue of contention here at F&C&S.

I made both of our mothers cry on Mother’s Day so I feel lots of pressure with this father’s day post. I don’t think I should use the same shtick, and I am racking my brain trying to think of something else.

I was going to list the qualities that I inherited from my dad but I realized that it was mostly bad things (apparently all my bad habits come from Dad and Aunt Carolyn!)  I am a lot like my father in good ways and in bad, in mental ways and physical ways- our baby pictures are eerily similar. Sometimes we are so alike that it scares me a little. One of my favorite shows is Friends and in one episode in a fit of frustration Rachel says, “I spent so much time trying not to turn into my mother that I accidentally turned into my father!”  I feel her pain.

There are lots of big moments in my life with Dad that I will always remember things like plays, trips, graduations and my wedding, but it is really the little moments that stick out when I really think about my relationship with my dad. Like:

Riding my bike by dad in the evenings while he ran and getting to run with him when I got older and stealing a drink from the water hose spout at that old carwash.

Doing “Who’s on First” together- broken pitcher and all!

Watching MASH and Law and Order.

Using dad’s Soloflex as a jungle gym while he was working at his desk.

Making jokes at his expense- whether he likes it or not.

When he taught my Sunday School class as a kid and all the kids thought he was the coolest.

When he coached our OM team for CCA just because I wanted to have a team and no one was prouder of us than he was when we placed 2nd!

Giving me allergy shots at the kitchen table- that was more of a love/hate thing though!

When he drove a bunch of us to the State Basketball tournament in Galveston and the tornado took the roof off of our hotel off.

Making our Amazing Race audition tape. No, we didn’t get picked, but I don’t think I have ever laughed so much in one day. FYI the first public showing of this video will be at Dad’s funeral.

Playing Scatch in the driveway. Anyone remember Scatch? AWESOME.

When he taught/tried to teach me how to drive a stick shift. Worst. Day. Ever.

Summer nights when we played in the yard until dark.

Having to be quiet in the car whenever Paul Harvey was on the radio.

There are many more where that smattering of memories came from, but they are all just as important as the big ones. I am lucky because I have discovered that some dads love their children but don’t enjoy their children. I always felt like Dad wanted to be with us and enjoyed the things that we did together rather than just put up with spending time with us. I still feel that way and I am so excited to get to see him in just a few days!! Happy Father’s Day, Dad!!!

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Father’s Day

  1. Dad says:

    I am not sure what you would classify as “making dad cry”? But if wiping my eyes with my shirt sleeves counts, then you have done it. I surely has not been the first time. I could say a lot of things but one thing is for sure, I am a lucky guy! I love you. Dad.

    P.S. Me and Aunt Carolyn? Really????? LOLOLOL!
    P.S#2. 2nd out of what, 32 teams? Not bad!

  2. Kristyn says:

    so sweet. and yes, learning to drive a standard = worst day ever!!

  3. Lollie says:

    Amen on having your dad teach you to drive a stick shift.

  4. Debi Kirksey says:

    Andrea….
    I’m looking forward to following your blog. Cute stuff on here.
    Debi

Leave a Reply

