Update and Story

Hello folks. I really wanted to get on here and post the rest of the Greece pictures but that isn’t going to happen! We are trying to switch internet providers and the switch didn’t go as smoothly as we planned and has left us internetless for a while. I am at the Whole Foods Cafe now using their wifi (for such a big city there are very few options for wifi- I would kill to be at Cafe Brazil on Central right now!). Uploading pictures here is just not going to happen as it would take so long they would close on me!

This last week we have had Jake staying with us and it was a blast! Since he had been here in March and seen all the big stuff (the Palace, Tower of London, National Gallery, Westminster Abey etc) we got to do other stuff with him. We went on the Jack the Ripper walk, British Museum, Natural History Museum and fun stuff like that. He got to meet lots of our friends and we went for Indian food and Vietnamese food- we learned that we share a deep love of seafood! It was really great spending time with the kid where he could just be himself and hang out. We watched tons of movies and laughed a lot. It was kind of a bummer he had such a short trip, but I tried to make it longer by picking him up from the airport a day early.

I woke up bright and early last Thursday morning and rode the bus for 20 minutes and then hopped a train at Clapham Junction to Gatwick, took the tram to the North Terminal and waited for Jake to get off the plane. I watched the arrival monitor and saw people with Delta tags coming out and waited and waited and waited. Finally I got worried. I went to information and they paged him. Nothing. I was afraid that he got off before I got there and was wondering the airport even though I specifically told him that he was to STAY near where he came out if I wasn’t there. I called his cell phone a bajillion times and his phone went straight to voicemail- which made me mad because we had the “turn your phone on as soon as your plane lands so I can find you” talk several times. Then information told me sometimes they hold minors at immigration until they confirm that someone is picking them up. I called immigration and there was no one by his name being held. I am FREAKING OUT and called Mike and he is trying to talk to Delta to make sure that he didn’t miss his connecting flight. I am trying to do all of this so that I can avoid calling mom and dad and telling them I lost their kid. Mike called me to tell me that Delta wouldn’t tell him anything without his booking number- which I didn’t have. I am in full on HOLY CRAP* I LOST MY LITTLE BROTHER IN LONDON panic mode and I summon my courage to call mom and dad. I was standing in the middle of the airport crying and mom answers the phone and seems confused as to why I am calling. I told her that I was so sorry and to not freak out but I couldn’t find Jake. She still sounded confused and said, “Sweetie, he leaves today. He won’t get there until tomorrow.” I did one of those half laugh and half sob things because I had worked myself up into such a tizzy and the relief that he was fine and not lost and that I was a complete idiot who can’t read a flight itinerary sank in all at once. Mom laughed at my expense and we hung up. I sat in the coffee shop near where I was for over half and hour eating a muffin and drinking a latte because I was so drained that I didn’t think that I could get home.

The next day I did it all again but with much better results- he was out by the time I got there and stayed exactly where I told him to!!

* I did not say crap. I said lots of things, but crap was not one of them. Sorry if you thought better of me and I let you down. But I thought I lost a PERSON here- cut me some slack.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Update and Story

  1. Uncle Bob says:

    Sure you are not an Aggie.!!!!

  2. JiJi says:

    It’s ok. I lost Aunt Margie in the mall in Abilene once.

    Try being a sister-in-law and explaining that to a mother-in-law and family of eight brother and sister-in-laws!! Everyone just gets real quite. No one says “It’s ok sweetie.”
    If no one else feels your panic and pain…. I feel your pain.

    Can’t wait to see you. 4 days til we leave! J

  3. Carole says:

    I once lost a church pastor and two mission team members. They didn’t move fast enough getting on public transport in Central Asia. And then I took the rest of the team to eat pizza while we waited for the lost 3 to surface. My rational was that the needs of the many outweighed the misplacing of the 3. Glad you are back online. You are my mental relief on work days!

  4. Dad says:

    Bob, the last thing she is, is an AGGIE! The girl won’t even say howdy!

  5. Cindy says:

    All’s well that ends well. He had a great trip and I have had a lot of fun telling that story – I didn’t know for sure if you would own up to it! Love you and I’ll see you NEXT WEEK!! Mom

  6. Lollie says:

    Being a big sister is a burden. You have to be the responsible one and when anything goes wrong you assume all the guilt. I don’t know exactly what I would have done.. Thanks for sharing a “funny” experience, I hope one day you can look on it and laugh. But being scared and losing a sibling is no laughing matter. Hang in there.

Leave a Reply

