Happy Mother’s Day!!

mothersday

I sat down to write a post about how much our mothers mean to us because really, Mike and I have both been incredibly blessed with wonderful mothers whose love could never be shown justice in a blog paragraph. I tried to write one though and kept ending up in tears so I came up with an anti-mothers day sentiment:

10 Things I Hate About My Mom

10. If she didn’t like an article of clothing that I had, it would somehow end up bleached, holey or two sizes too small.

9.  She bought me those wretched Memory Power tapes from some infomercial and made me do them every day one summer. It was awful and I’ll never forget it- haha see what I did there.

8.  She was always so concerned for my safety- I am still waiting on that trampoline.

7.  She made me clean my room at least every other month, as if seeing the floor was really that important.

6.  She gave me Jake when I very specifically prayed for a sister. She says I probably wouldn’t have liked a sister. She’s probably right.

5.  In high school when my friends and I took the keys to the school and broke into the office to go through people’s files and the headmaster’s office- she showed up and yelled at us.

4.  She lied a little about food. Did you know that not all biscuits come from a can? Or, you can also make chili not just heat it?

3.  She was so understanding and made communication so easy that we didn’t fight. I am 24 years old and have never gotten to yell at my mother about how much she didn’t understand me.

2.  She can spell the entire dictionary and does crossword puzzles in pen and yet she couldn’t share even a smidge of that genetic gift with me. I still misspell my own name sometimes.

1.  I hate how leaving her and moving to London is the hardest things I have ever done in my life and every time someone asks me how London is I just start babbling about how much I miss my mom. I hate that seeing each other means someone is taking a 10-hour flight instead of a 50-minute drive. I hate that I break her heart every time I have to get on the plane. I hate how much I love her and how much she means to me that even after almost a year away I still miss her so much it hurts.

As for Jeanne, I have only ever gotten to see you be a mother to Mike and John as adults rather than children or -goodness- teenagers. But if the proof is in the pudding, then you are a wonderful cook. Thank you for whatever you did to turn Mike into the wonderful person, and the man of integrity that he is today. I couldn’t ask for a better husband. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for all you do.

We love you both and miss you so much it hurts. Hope you have a wonderful mother’s day.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy Mother’s Day!!

  1. Dad says:

    Well, it looks like the tapes worked! But I am worried about Father’s day.

  2. fishandchipsandsalsa says:

    What??? What tapes?

  3. Angelle says:

    well #1 made me cry anyway

  4. JiJi says:

    Sniff….Sniff….Sniff. Now I’m crying. I love you and miss you both more than you know.

    Oh, and by the way….his father had very little to with the good qualities that the boy grew up with. They all came from me. He inherited all the bad stuff from his father and grandfather! Ask him. He will tell you that this is the truth!!!

    Andrea, YOU will never know how special you are to me. Thank you for opening up your precious heart to us, for loving our son, and for loving our family despite our faults.

    Your Mother in Love, Jeanne

  5. Cindy says:

    Well, here it is the Friday following Mother’s Day and I still cannot read this post without choking up. I am, without a doubt, the luckiest mom in the world. My children are two of the most amazing people ever. Okay, I have to stop there or my students will come in to find their teacher on the floor in tears.

Leave a Reply

