Kick A Wednesday: Daytime

I do many very predictable things and have many very predictable days. Then sometimes the stars align and I have a really awesome day filled with awesome things that I have never done before! Wednesday was one of those days. I will start with the daytime activity. wait for it…… wait for it…… I went on a hike. (Dramatic pause)

The AWC has a hiking group that goes on hikes once a month in rain or shine. They rate the hikes in difficulty do you don’t get into something that you can’t do. I never go on these hikes because I don’t hike and am not really a nature girl. (understatement of the year) However, every year they go on a bluebell hike- sadly the flower not the ice cream- and it is billed as the hike to go on if you go on one all year. The difficulty rating out of 10 was a 1 and they promise you don’t even need hiking boots. I decided to go and look at some of this English countryside that people are always raving about. Wednesday was an absolutely beautiful day with sunshine and mild temperatures. There was a big group of us on the hike and it was really a lot of fun.

The group:

hike

England has something called ‘right of way’ laws basically meaning that hikers/walkers can cross through anything they want to- people’s backyards farms or anything. Here are some of the pictures from the hike:

IMG_0795

IMG_0796

My friend Kate (another Dallas girl!!)

IMG_0801

We all ended up at a little pub for lunch before heading back. I am definitely not taking up hiking and I probably won’t go on another one until the bluebell hike next year but it was a great way to see a little of the country.

Kick A Wednesday: Evening is coming soon!

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Kick A Wednesday: Daytime

  1. Cindy says:

    Beautiful! Your dad will be so jealous!

  2. Dad says:

    Girl, a shoulder bag won’t do. Gotta get you an Osprey backpack!

  3. fishandchipsandsalsa says:

    I am not making this a habit, a shoulder bag works just fine for this once a year experience!

  4. Cindy says:

    I know how you pack….what all was in that bag??

  5. Carolyn says:

    How lovely! Are bluebells any relation to blue bonnets? Can’t wait to hear about awesome Wednesday evening!

  6. Lollie says:

    Alright, this is how much I know about the London countryside. Were you in Sherwood Forest?? Did you see Robin Hood and his band of Merry Men???
    Or were you in the woods surrounding Camelot??? Did you see Merlin, or wood elves or Archimedes the owl??
    Are there snakes in England? or did St. somebody drive them out? What kind of birds were there? Cardinals, robins, Blue jays, Mockingbirds???
    I must stop all this wondering and get busy, but I am reminded of a song we sang in Camp Fire Girls.

    I love to go a wandering along the mountain trak,
    and as I go I love to sing a napsack on my back.

Leave a Reply

