Table Vindication

In our old apartment building in Dallas, there was an area in the parking garage near the dumpsters where people would put things that they didn’t want anymore but weren’t necessarily trash. Old sofas, tv cabinets, doors, chairs, broken lamps and other treasures along that line. Most of the stuff was too far gone for salvation or sanitation. One day we did find a great treasure. It was a low coffee table-ish table made from a bisection of a big tree. It was broken and in sad shape but I loved it and sweet batted my eyes at my wonderful husband and the table was ours! Mike got some brackets at Home Depot and fixed the break and made the legs more secure. I loved that table but alas, it didn’t make it to London with us. Here is the table:

img_2942

People made fun of my beloved table and called it ugly and ridiculous **coughcough Mom coughcough** but I didn’t let it dampen my excitement over my find. I will cop to it being eccentric but that is it. What does this have to do with anything relevant to today?

I went to a fabulous store the other day called Liberty. It is a very old department store in a fantastic old building and it it quite an experience. Visiting should definitely be on your list of places to see in London if shopping is your thing. They have furniture and home goods that are beautiful and unique. They are also stupidly expensive. I fell in love with many pieces that barring a lotto win, I will never own. Something special did catch my eye though.

img_0117

Well lookie there. That looks familiar. The legs are a bit different but the spirit of the table is the same. Although my table cost about $10 in brackets from Home Depot and this one cost 1800 pounds!!!! Now you know what I mean by stupid expensive. I did enjoy the vindication of my taste and will be accepting the critics apologies **coughcough Mom cough cough** in the comments below!

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Table Vindication

  1. Cindy says:

    The good news is – your table is safe and sound upstairs at my house. The bad news is – after your smart aleck comments it may not be next week! =) Mom

  2. Uncle Bob says:

    Hey Cindy; Since I am Always the Bad Cop.I could come get that table.It would make me all warm inside to be by my fireplace on these cold April nites and feel warm as it burns and warms Aunt Linda and I…

    Just let me know!!!

  3. JiJi says:

    Yikes, $3,600 for a place to set books and maybe some flowers!

    Hmmmm….I wonder if the gate code still works at “American Beauty”? Gotta love bargain shoppers.

  4. Dad says:

    Hey Andrea,
    When is the table gonna be delivered? 🙂

  5. Lollie says:

    Another fabulous find was your Target buggy which is being well cared for and love by me. Don’t fall for your mother and uncle’s threats they probably really envy your table , but I am sorry your buggy loves it at our house and you might find it doesn’t want to leave.

  6. Jennifer Smith Cantu says:

    Your table looks much better than the expensive one. Check out pointandclick.com and see Ali Wentworth & George Stephanopoulos’ master bedroom, they have a stump!

  7. Jennifer Smith Cantu says:

    oops it is pointclickhome.com

Leave a Reply

