The Girls!

We are getting closer and closer to our year anniversary in London and I thought that I would do a few posts on some of the things that have made our year in London great!

I was thinking the other day and I realized that I have more girlfriends right now then I have ever had at one time. Not just friends or people I know or see frequently but real girlfriends that I have coffee with, lunch with, talk about life stuff with and write bizarre nonsensical facebook messages to. I am not antisocial or particularly repellent -I don’t think- I have just never had a plethora of friends at a time. (Disclaimer: I have wonderful close friends from virtually every stage in my life and this post in no way lessens the important role they have in my life.) I have found that I enjoy having a group of girlfriends.

The reason that I think we all get along and have found such an easy groove is that we are in the same boat. We are all in London because our husbands’ jobs brought us here. We all gave up jobs that we loved to come over and are now in this bizarre housewifey 1950s in 2009 thing that we don’t quite understand. We are all loving the travel and living in this great city but we all struggle a little bit with missing home, missing family, missing our old lives in one way or another. We also have more time on our hands then anyone should have and have to find ways to fill it!

Andrea and Sarah at a birthday party being goofy:

img_01111

Our Twilight watching DVD party last Wednesday:

img_0519

Some of us decided to explore the famous sundae bar at Harrods:

img_0521

I haven’t covered everyone in the photos but even so, now it feels like there is always someone there to hang out with or talk to about things. It’s a great comfort to have in a place so far away from everyone and everything you have ever known. And even though we all know that we will end up moving back to the States at different times and to vastly different areas, that doesn’t stop us from making the most of this fun time together!

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Girls!

  1. JiJi says:

    Some of the best friends I have were made when Ben and I were very young and lived what we thought were a long way from home. And, we still keep in touch today, almost 40 years later. There is nothing like life long friends! No matter how long it’s been since we’ve seen each other, we just hit this groove when we see each other again.

    There’s not too much better than a good bottle of wine and a long afternoon with girlfriends!!! Anything else you can squeeze in is icing on the cake!!

    I’m so glad you all found one another!

  2. Lollie says:

    Your description of friends makes me so thankful for sisters. I can’t imagine my life without them. I always smile when the aunts and uncles call us “the girls” even though we are all in our fifties. Your life is a vicarious journey for me and I sometimes really need a break from mine. Enjoy, share, and cherish these moments. Like Auntie Mame said “Life’s a banquet, and some poor son’s of bitches are starving” So from a PSOB (my student’s of course just us the captial B) thank’s for a view of the banquet. Eat, drink, and be merry. Have a toast to me in a pub.

Leave a Reply

