Let the Wild Rumpus Start!!

In many ways I am my mother’s daughter. For instance, we share a strong belief that the book is better that the movie. Always. This is a non-changing fact. That isn’t to say that all movies based on books are bad- many are absolutely wonderful. However, I keep my excitement about movies from books modest because I am let down more often than not. I am however cautiously optimistic about the Where the Wild Things Are movie. Here’s the newly released trailer:

I loved this book as a child so much. I hold no hopes that it will be as good as the book, but the trailer gave me chills and I am taking that as a good sign. Mike has never read the book and so I also have to stop by the bookstore today. I also reserve the right to hate the movie and gripe about it for getting my hopes up and dashing them to the ground!

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let the Wild Rumpus Start!!

  1. Cindy says:

    I am so sad that the trailer didn’t come through on my computer – I will have to go and look it up. Can’t imagine an entire movie made from that book, but stranger things have happened. I will have to decide whether or not to see it. It is always a disappointment to see what Hollywood does to a favorite book – case in point – The Indian in the Cupboard. I’ve never seen the whole thing, but that guy is so NOT Little Bear!

  2. JiJi says:

    This was one of Michael’s and John’s favorite books as a child. Mostly pictures as I remember….very little narration. Only a few sentences, so as to leave more to the imagination I’m sure and what imaginations my boys had.

    As I recall the book was about a boy in a costume running around terrorizing his mother and the dog with a pitchfork or something like that. She gets upset and sends him to bed without supper.

    I imagine Michael and John didn’t enjoy the book because there were HUGE trees outside their windows that made all sorts of shadows on the walls at night and in the book the boy goes to a forest that has WILD THINGS in it.

    Of course in the end the little boy wins by staring into the monsters big yellow eyes and he returns home after becoming homesick. He of course finds his supper still holt waiting in his room. Good ole’ Mom.

    I’m surprised that he doesn’t remember it. I can’t tell you the number of times that we read it, BUT NEVER BEFORE BEDTIME! Love you both.

Leave a Reply

