Losing Hair, Saving Money

Even though the Dyson has changed the way we clean, we still fight The Dog Hair every gosh darn day. It is everywhere, always and forever. As spring is here and flowers are blooming, we decided it was time to take a step in the fight and cut the dog’s hair. We had it cut last April but hadn’t had them groomed since. Yes, we still bathed them and clipped their nails but we just let their hair get WILD!!

img_0485

I talked to a lady at the AWC and she gets her dogs groomed for 38 pounds each and thinks that is about average. I don’t even pay that for my own hair so I sure as heck don’t plan on doing it for the pups; plus when you add in trying to schlep them across London just to get an over priced haircut? Not worth it. So I asked Mike why we just didn’t do it ourselves. They are dogs and it is just hair that will grow back no matter what we do to it. We bought a set of clippers and went to town. (Mike did most of the work because I get all upset when the pups squirm and try to get away.) We didn’t do too bad but we had several dog sized piles of hair to get up!

Dog purists should look away from the following pictures. I believe that if you aren’t showing a dog then you can cut the hair/fur any way that you please. We told the breeder that we bought Kricket from that we cut Hannahbelle’s hair short in the summer and she almost had a stroke.

Results:

img_0516

img_0509

I think that they look adorable! It sure is short, (and they also don’t like posing for the camera and end up with devil eyes in pictures.) Oh, and pardon The Laundry.

img_05181

Their sweet little faces make it look like they are puppies again! Happy Spring Everyone!

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Losing Hair, Saving Money

  1. Lollie says:

    I think they look adorable.

  2. jiji1 says:

    I see Kricket cowering in the first picture in her kennel,so I assume that she was the first to get trimmed. Poor baby…she probably thought you both were mad at her or something! The DO look adorable. Love you. Mean it. 🙂 Jiji

  3. Nana says:

    I think they look great. You did a good job on the hair cuts. Maybe you should go into the business.
    It sure was good to get the family back in the good old USA. Love you both, Nana

  4. Cindy says:

    Y’all did a great job. I know the short ‘do will help the flat stay a lot less hairy! And they will be so much cooler. We had such a great visit and already can’t wait to see you again in June! Love you, Mom

  5. Dad says:

    What did you do to keep them still long enough,,,,,,, serious drugs? They look great! Trying for a second profession?

  6. Mike says:

    I bought some new clippers for the job so they didn’t have that annoying buzzing sound that I’m sure would have freaked them out. They were both great and easy except when it came to their belly and feet they fidgeted. I actually think they liked it! It probably felt like a cross between a massage and a good scratching. As soon as I finished with Kricket, Hannahbelle pushed Kricket out of the way and wanted her turn, but I had to bathe Kricket first. I think she was cold from not having any hair so she went straight to her bed and snuggled in her blanket. All in all it took about 3 hours mostly spent on their ears. If this whole finance thing doesn’t pan out I guess I’ll have something to fall back on.

  7. Angelle says:

    I hate dog hair, Tasso is a short hair dog and if I could I would shave her bald. She would look scary at least your pups still look cute

Leave a Reply

