Realization

At some point in life a moment will make us realize something about ourselves that we didn’t know before. Or we knew it on some level but it takes something to really sink in. I realized this week that I am an adult. I think I should have realized it when I graduated from college, but I didn’t. Or maybe when I got married? Moved across the world? None of these things set off the switch in my head that I am, in fact, a real life grownup. What was my ahh ha moment?

I stayed home all day to wait on a package that I was DESPERATELY excited about. In the package? This:

dyson-root-6

That my friends is the Dyson DC16 Root 6 Handheld Vacuum. Sign me up for bingo and the 4 pm dinner special; you bring the prescription meds and I’ll wear some stretchy pants and my good hair. Aside from the life implications that this little package has brought me, I am in love.

In Dallas we had a concrete floor and never had a vacuum. We have carpeting in the bedrooms downstairs here but we bought a crappy 15 pound (price not weight) pull around vacuum that we keep under the bed and called it a day. Then the pups got here in September and we have been fighting Operation: Dog Hair ever since. I was sweeping the upstairs daily and just felt like I was pushing the hair around instead of getting it up. I finally gave up and decided I was going to buy a little Black and Decker classic dustbuster. I was talking to Mike about it and told him that when I went to look at them all I really wanted was the Dyson hand vac that specialized in pet hair. His eyes lit up and he said, “get it.” Mike’s philosophy has always been to pay a little bit more upfront and get the good one that will do what you need it to do properly than get the cheapest one that will end up being more problems and money that it is worth. I really like his philosophy. Plus, he really hates dog hair.

We ordered it online and they threw in free next day shipping and extra accessories! This is when all my adult feelings kicked in. I love that stupid thing so much. All the corners and under spaces that were filled with pet hair that would just NEVER GO AWAY are clean. The furniture is dusted (because it came with a furniture dusting attachment!!!!! look at me I’m gushing- it’s pathetic) the molding is clean. Mike and I argued over who got to use it first like kids at Christmas. When I think about how there are no bags to mess with and make me sneeze, I get a little teary eyed.

I think when you get misty over a vacuum you are officially an adult. Come visit me in the home. My room will be the dust and pet hair free one.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Realization

  1. Cindy says:

    It’s the small things in life…..

  2. JiJi says:

    Wow!!! I really can see you and Mike putting it together and having a discussion about who is going to use it first.

    It’s just “bootiful” as the grandchild with the slight lisp would say. But wasn’t there a pink model? On the other hand, the school bus yellow will be easier to find under the bed.

    WELCOME to the world of stretchy pants, the 4 o’clock dinner special, bingo, and snap-on hair. Ha, Ha. Love you. Mean it.

  3. Carolyn says:

    Welcome, sweet girl, welcome.

    Only YOU can make me laugh about a vacuum cleaner!

  4. Dad says:

    This is from the girl who left a walking hair bomb named “Stella” at my house. When do I get me dog hair vac?????

  5. Suzanne says:

    you forgot about the white support stockings you need to wear when you head to Denny’s for the “Early Bird Special”

  6. Carole says:

    I am about to google your Dyson. Since Joy the Schnoodle moved in, I wanted a handheld vac but didn’t know which one to choose. Thanks for the advice!

  7. Lollie says:

    Adulthood does not have to bring with it sitting in rockers under a shawl. Anyone who goes to Paris for Valentine, Germany for Octoberfest, Scotland and other points of interest in under a year is not old. Not to mention running a marathon with your dad, “you’re not old if you can run a marathon and live to tell about it.” Finding ways to make your life easier to manage is appreciated at any age. Keep the advise coming, this old dog might just learn some new tricks.

Leave a Reply

