Bonjour, Part Quatre

Our last day in Paris was a half day before our flight and we had just a couple more things to do. The first thing was breakfast. I have to say that of all the things I miss in America, going to breakfast is near the top of my list. Ever since we got married we have loved rolling ut of bed and going to get taquitos from Whataburger or somewhere to get pancakes and bacon. I could wax rhapsodic all day on the merits of All Good Cafe in Deep Ellum. We don’t do that here. No one has biscuits or pancakes or real bacon so we just don’t bother. We stumbled across a restaurant in the Latin Quarter near our hotel called Breakfast in America and it was a diner style American breakfast place and I almost cried. We saved it for our last meal in Paris after we had had our fill of steak frites and crepes and croissants. It was soooooo good. I know when most of you go to Paris, finding bacon will not bring you to tears but it was so wonderful that I was beside myself with glee.

I was excited about the mediocre diner coffee and something that you never get in Europe: free refills!

img_0412

Mike thought I was a bit too crazy excited about breakfast. (He didn’t exactly leave any bacon on his plate though)

img_0409

Delicious breakfast.

img_0414

After a delicious breakfast we headed out and walked down the river one last time to the Museum d’Orsay. In my less than professional opinion, this was a far better museum to spend time in than the Louvre. Many more artists that the average person would have heard of and much more manageable to navigate.  It was built in an old train station and the place itself is magnificent.

img_0423

I like elephants.

img_0425

Then we cabbed it back to our hotel to grab our stuff and headed to the airport. We had the best little weekend away and the best Valentine’s Day! We loved Paris and can’t wait to go back again.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bonjour, Part Quatre

  1. Dad says:

    Gosh, two pieces of sausage and you they could have given you “The Grand Slam”breakfast from Denny’s. Glad you had a great trip.

  2. JiJi says:

    You both were on my mind the whole weekend that you were in Paris. Of all the things I imagined you doing, and American breakfast wasn’t one of them. You just never know where you’ll find the comforts of home!! Great pictures!! Love you!!

  3. Suzanne says:

    I had trouble finding biscuits and gravy when I lived in California…and that’s in the United States(or at least it used to be…I think it’s a foreign country now!)

  4. Dad says:

    Oh by the way, what exactly are you doing to that elephant?

  5. fishandchipsandsalsa says:

    I am imitating the elephant. Geeez.

Leave a Reply

