The Show!!!

1:32 He’s in a tux. Success.

1:37 Am impressed with number so far. Can’t type- must watch.

1:46 I like the old winners but I miss the clips of the movies. Tilda still looks like a crazy bag lady- it must be said again.

1:48 Now I guess I have to put up with ScarJo and go see Vicky Christina Barcelona. Drat. I hate ScarJo.

1:53 Tina Fey looks WIN. She finally didn’t wear black and Steve Martin obviously didn’t realize that Pink Panther 2 lost him his rights to even watch the Oscars.

2:03 How many times will they cut to Brangelina during Jen’s part? Team Aniston all the way btw.

2:16 Can’t decide whether I want to be in Sarah Jessica Parker’s Dress or Daniel Craig’s pants.

2:26 OMG EEDDWWAARRDD!!! Wait, I already did that didn’t I? Dang, these British accents are getting to me- you’d think I’d be used to it but the check out guy at Tesco just doesn’t sound like that.

2:32 Ben Stiller as Joaquin Phoenix is priceless. Awkward but priceless.

2:38 All I can think when I look at Jessica Biel’s dress is “it’s not a tumor!!”

2:44 Comedy montage was pretty funny- as it should have been. The laughing during The Reader was classic!

2:52 Does no one remember the Beyonce induced disaster that was the 2005 Oscars? Who asked her back? They should be strangled with her red carpet dress.

2:59 That musical was a cluster#%@* of terrible. I had really high hopes and they were dashed. It could have been so good.

3:09 I am glad Heath Ledger won  because his performance was amazing, but I can’t watch the speech from his parents. It makes me nervous.

3:41 The special award of the year. This is my cue to take a break and in tonight’s case, a nap. UPDATE: Jerry Lewis just gave the shortest speech for that award that I have ever heard- he is my favorite.

3:56 I have to say that I miss when they had 4 or 5 song nominees and spread out the songs through the whole show. John Legend does redeem it a bit though.

4:01 We don’t actually have to take Zac Efron seriously as an actor now do we? I revolt. He could turn in an Oscar worthy performance in every movie he does from here on out but I will always see him in that wildcats uniform singing “getcha getcha getcha getcha head in the game!!”

4:16 I like the memorial montage every year but on the other hand it is like going up to someone and saying , “Remember that so and so died. Me too.” But awww Van Johnson, Paul Newman, and Sydney Pollack…sad.

4:19 I will always love Reese Witherspoon with my whole heart. Her dress is unique and lovely, but in the words of my mother, “did you touch a brush to your hair today?”

4:24 I love that the Oscars are filled with the most beautiful haute couture dresses and the commercials in the middle are for JCPenny and some girl is wearing a denim halter top. Ironic, no?

4:27 Is it just me or will Shirley McClain always be Ouiser? Who is Melissa Leo? Has Anyone seen this movie? Nicole Kidman’s dress has feathers and I am so jealous- I love feathers. Kate finally won!!! She is the Oscar’s Susan Lucci no more!

4:40 Adrian Brody needs a haircut; he looks like he is still in The Pianist. Sorry, I am busy praying that Sean Penn doesn’t win.

4:43 Damn.

4:47 Can I just go to bed yet? One more!

4:52 SLUMDOG!!!!

Verdict: The movies this year as a whole were crap. The Dark Knight should have at least been nominated for best picture. No one wore anything that terrible. Hugh Jackman did a bang up job what little he was on stage. It’s still my favorite night of television.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Show!!!

  1. Suzanne says:

    I miss Billy Crystal’s opening numbers!

  2. Suzanne says:

    oh boy…it’s celebrate the night!!

  3. Nana says:

    We just got home from church. Our revival started this morning. It is now 9:00 and we are just getting home from evening service. It was good. I will start watching now. Love your comments. Nana

  4. Cindy says:

    So glad I tuned in just in time for the documentaries, action and sound awards! Oh good, now they are doing the sound mixers. =)

  5. Cindy says:

    Has Eddie Murphy’s head always been unusually large for his body??

  6. Cindy says:

    Hey – I have some 4th grade girls who would disagree that the Wildcat performance isn’t Oscar worthy!! All of their backpacks say so!!

  7. Cindy says:

    And good night…..

  8. Nana says:

    Andrea, no one else in the world could have kept Cindy up after midnight. You are good. Nana

  9. Dad says:

    Why is it that I am glad I went to bed at 9:23?????

  10. JiJi says:

    I can’t believe that I watched the whole thing and fell asleep during Kate’s speech (after her dad whistled though)!! Dang, I’m turning into an OLD woman!! Then again, what did I miss? Sean Penn and the announcement of Slumdog. Not so much in my book. At least I stayed awake for the good stuff!!

    Love the commentary. Hope you got a good nap today.

  11. Dad says:

    Hey,
    Did you know that the girl in the red sheet who won the short documentary the pinki thing or whatever is from HP High School?

  12. T-Nutts says:

    your comment at 2:16 is OUT OF CONTROL hilarious! loved kate’s dress, but really did not like her hair. i’m with you, i hate sean penn. and the whole time during the “musical” cooper kept saying “what’s going on? i’m so confused. what is happening?” when you return, we’ll have to have an oscar party. hey, aren’t ya’ll thinking about moving to a new flat? is that still in the plans?

Leave a Reply

