Sellout

Ladies and Gentlemen, I have sold out to London. I am so ashamed. They say that the best defense is a good offense (or is it the best offense is a good defense? I don’t do sports analogies.) I came to London on offense. I would not be changed. I wore my pearls, teased my hair, monogrammed my pillows and said y’all every time I could feasibly fit into conversation. I was and am determined to leave London just as southern and Texan as I was when I got here if not more. I indulge in the occasional fish and chips but in my heart I know I would rather be eating fried catfish and hushpuppies. Our default date night dinner is now Indian food with curry and naan dipped in chutney, but I have never doubted that I would rather be in Uncle Julio’s with fajitas and chips and salsa. I shop in John Lewis and Selfridges & Co, but would much rather be in Nordstrom. You get the picture. Last week I was having lunch with Sarah and we were putting off getting back out into the freezing cold and snow and she said she wanted something warm to drink. She ordered hot tea and I decided that I would just have what she was having.

Confession time: I liked it. It was really good. Usually when I had hot tea it was green tea and I was sick, just drinking it because it helped my throat. This was just everyday hot tea. I even bought some at the store to drink at home. Don’t worry, I don’t put milk in it, I’m not a Yankee. Sometimes it is just easier to make a cup of tea than make a pot of coffee and I feel a little twinge of guilt each time.

I think I may need to get some more things monogrammed.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sellout

  1. Carolyn says:

    Have no fear, my dear! When the time comes, we’ll buy you right back with all the fajitas, chips and salsa we can muster! 🙂

    Have fun in Paris!

  2. jiji1 says:

    Honey Child, You’re not a sell out!! Didn’t you know that ladies in the South drink afternoon tea (and here in Richardson, Texas too!!)–nice scones, tea sandwiches, pastries, etc. and the tea is not bad either. Of course, the MARTINI TEA COCKTAIL well that’s a whole other story…..here’s the recipe

    1 Serving

    2 oz lemon vodka (Absolut Citron)
    1/2 oz Grand Marnier® orange liqueur
    1 oz chilled tea (honey to taste)

    • Steep loose leaf tea, but not too long so it doesn’t become bitter. Cool off and add some honey to sweeten lightly.
    • Combine tea, vodka and Grand Marnier in a martini shaker with ice and shake until chilled.
    • Pour into a martini glass pre-rimmed with sugar crystals (makes the glass look cute and adds a bit of sweetness)
    • Garnish with lime or orange slices.

    Happy Sipping!

    “There are few hours in life more agreeable than the hour dedicated to the ceremony known as afternoon tea,” Henry James(1843-1916)

    Love to you both in chilly Paris on Valentines Day!!! JiJi
    p.s. Just so you know this recipe is NOT from my First Baptist Church Cookbook!!!

  3. T-Nutts says:

    Milk in tea is awesome! Try it! I’m currently on a Irish Breakfast Tea kick. But maybe I love it because my mom woke us up at 4 in the morning when we were little to watch Princess Diana get married and then have an English breakfast. The brainwashing started early.

Leave a Reply

