Double Standard

Going out on the streets here is always an adventure. The fashion in London is quite extreme. There are the dapper businessmen in the business district but the young people fashion trends are quite ummm… strange. We like to joke that it looks like kindergartners with no supervision who dress themselves. The further into ‘young hip’ areas that you go, the worse the clothes. My friend Tamara says she feels like she lives in a bad 80s movie every day. The strange thing is that no one pays attention. People walk down the street and pay no mind to someone in a teal ruffled prom dress and hot pink tights- it’s just another Tuesday. I frequently marvel that the only one giving the man with a giant orange mohawk strange looks is me. People just don’t care or even notice. However:

I went running in shorts when it was in the low 40s a few days ago and people stopped and stared at me like I was a two headed monster. It was the most quizzical looks too, like they couldn’t figure out exactly what I was doing. If it had been any colder they may have had me committed.

Next time I am just going to go running in my ruffled teal prom dress with hot pink tights. No one will even notice.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Double Standard

  1. Cindy says:

    Prom dress with Nikes?? I’m going to need a picture of that! Mom

  2. JiJi says:

    Did you pack a prom dress? I’m shocked! But, I too will need a picture. MIL

  3. Carolyn says:

    I’m just impressed with your commitment to run! Maybe THAT’S what they didn’t understand. Most people are hybernating inside having a carb-fest to stay warm and here comes this cute little American girl . . . running in shorts! They may have stopped to look and see what you were running from! Could it be vampires? 🙂

  4. Nana says:

    You know me, I would probably be running behind you trying to keep your legs warm. You know I could never let you lay on the couch without covering you up when you went to sleep. I just knew you were cold. Nana

  5. Cindy says:

    Would that be like when you would run behind her when she was learning to ride her bike???

  6. Susie says:

    I’m really enjoying hearing your London stories! Sounds like the fashion hasn’t gotten any better in the last few years since we lived there! Yet…we miss it! Please keep posting 🙂

Leave a Reply

