A New Calling.

I love our kitchen table. When the movers were unpacking our things when we first moved to London, the table was the first thing out of the truck and the head mover came up to me and said, “that table isn’t going to fit through the door.” I simply looked at him and said, “oh, yes it is.” Case closed. And it fit.

Honey made our table a long time ago, before I was even born I believe. Then he put a new top on it when it came to live with me when Mike and I got married. I feel a bit bad because something tells me that when he was spending his precious time making this table, this was not a scene that he ever pictured happening at his work.

img_0089

The girls (Meghan, Sarah and Tamara) had plans to go see the reunion tour of the New Kids on the Block on Saturday night. I like to tease them and tell them that I didn’t want to go because they were before my time, which is true, but I don’t add that I was socially weird and didn’t know anything about pop music until I was about 15. So we invited all of the husbands over for a poker night! I showed them what true southern hospitality was and made cheese dip.

img_0076

I also found a new favorite cake recipe, Chocolate Stout Cake. And I got to use my newly acquired cake plate.

img_0075

We played for hours while the girls were getting their KNOTB fangirl groove on! I was quite the card shark. Not really but I did win a few hands!

img_00831

Mike did us proud by coming in second in the first tournament and winning the second tournament!!

img_0086

Kricket got in on the action too.

img_0080

The girls came over after the concert and we played a few rounds of Wii tennis and bowling before everyone headed home! It was a great night, partly because Mike won all our money back and partly because we got to hang out with all our friends!

Sorry about the table.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A New Calling.

  1. Cindy says:

    That table was built waaaay before you were born. We had it when I was a little girl. When our family outgrew it, it went to live with Aunt Lois. Then it came back to me when we got our first house. It didn’t get refinished until it moved to the loft in Dallas. Mom

  2. kristyn holleman says:

    The first picture looks like a scene in a movie!

  3. Nana says:

    It looks like all of you are having fun. I am sure Kricket brought the person holding her some good luck. I am glad you are enjoying the table. I guess you can call it an antique.ha
    Loved the pictures and the food looked really good.
    Love, Nana

  4. Suzanne says:

    Are you gonna post the recipe for that yummy looking cake?

  5. Suzanne says:

    okay…I see that you just have to click on the name of the cake & there’s the recipe…my bad! But excuse my ignorance…what is stout? And did you use the same icing recipe, because I noticed your’s is iced all over, and the pics with the recipe just show a glaze on top.

  6. fishandchipsandsalsa says:

    Stout is a type of beer. I think that most common is Guinness which is what I used. It tastes terrible on its own but somehow makes the cake so much better! I used that recipe for the icing but I couldn’t find my bundt pan so I just used my regular cake pans and covered it with the icing!

Leave a Reply

