From the Corner

When I was little and I did something bad, I would put myself in timeout in the corner. I don’t know why. So today I am writing you from the corner, because I have been oh so very bad. The whole time I was doing it I kept saying to myself, my mother would DIE if she saw me right now.

I bought dishes. *hangs head in shame*

There is nothing WRONG with the purchase of dishware. Most even find it necessary at some point in life. However, we already have a full set of casual dishes in London, left service for 12 of our wedding china in my old closet at mom and dad’s and only have a 650 sq ft flat. But I love dishes. Always have, always will. When Mike and I picked out our dishes to register for, we picked out a beautiful albeit a bit different china pattern and then basic white dishes for everyday because I knew my proclivity for falling in love with random dishes and if I had everything in white I could pair them with whatever random dessert plates or bowls I had taken to that week. So far that has been perfect. But there have always been a couple of patterns that  have held my heart and I knew I would purchase one day. I just didn’t know that day would be yesterday.

The American Women’s Club takes a group of women to Stoke on Trent twice a year in January and July. Stoke on Trent is a town in England that is the home of pottery. All the pottery factories are in this little town and each factory has a factory store connected to it. January and July are their sale months. There are brands that I had heard of and love and some that I have ever heard of before. We went to Portmerion, Spode, Waterford/Wedgwood, Royal Doulton, Burleigh, Anysley, and one whose name I cannot recall. It was a long day and there were LOTS of dishes! At the Spode store, I bought eight dinner plates of the Spode Woodland collection. I never like stuff like this, but I have had a soft spot for this pattern for years. I only bought dinner plates but I plan on adding to it on each trip back to Stoke so that I have a full set. I think I like the idea of using in on a big table set for Thanksgiving dinner, and I also like that there are millions of accessories in that pattern!!

woodland

At Waterford/Wedgwod, I found the other set of plates that I loved. Everyone and their dog has these dishes and I found them on sale for 1.31 each dinner plate and .75 each dessert plate. (I don’t have a pound sign on my computer.) Now I have a set of 8. The reason that I have alway liked them is that when I was 10 and in my first play, Meet Me in St. Louis, we had to eat in one of the scenes. We used these dishes for props and I thought they were so beautiful. If my memory serves, they belonged to Ann and John Ron Johnson (John Ron played my father in the show) and I thought that they were the most wonderful people. I have wanted those dishes ever since. Who was I to let a little space issue deny a 10 year old girl’s dream?

willow_plate

I also bought a cake plate to match the Wedgwood, a fruit/serving bowl to match the Spode, a little blue peacock tray for beside my bed, a Vera Wang for Wedgwood cream jug with pink accents, and candlesticks that look like Japanese Coy fish. (The candle sticks are so beautiful and much better than they sound- picture coming soon!) And the whole day I spent less than 100 pounds. Not to shabby. I love Stoke on Trent and definitely plan on going back! Now I just have to find room in my kitchen for two more sets of dishes… as soon as I let myself out of the corner.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to From the Corner

  1. Carole says:

    As a fellow dish lover, I am so jealous! And I just added Stoke on Trent to my next time in England agenda. What are you doing in January 2010?

  2. Carolyn says:

    I don’t think any amount of “air sucking” space saver bags is going to help get you two back on this side of the pond when that time comes! 🙂 I’ll start rounding up people who can come with empty carry on bags to help get all your newly acquired pretties here safely! BTW. I LOVE those dishes!!!

  3. Cindy says:

    Shocked – I am just shocked!! I knew when you told me where you were going what was going to happen. =) Have to admit that the woodsy plates are a little surprising, but I love them. Mom

  4. Dad says:

    Gosh, love those wildlife scenes. Animals to shoot at! Who would have thought!

  5. JiJi says:

    What a fun trip!!! The blue dishes were my first love when I was about your age. And, I’m still purchasing variations of them today, only in pink, browns, and greens. I love the woodland scene also and can’t wait to have Thanksgiving dinner on them. A beautiful choice I must say. Have a fun time shopping. Wish I was there with an empty suitcase!!

  6. Pingback: From the Corner. Again. |

Leave a Reply

